Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 16, 2012

DAVIS: How Amazon ruined Christmas

Niagara Gazette — If you follow the news in any format closely enough you are bound to find at least one story about a “War on Christmas.”

It might be about an elementary school teacher who “Grinches out” and casts doubts regarding the validity of this ‘Santa’ character in the minds of their young students, or angry back and forth between people who don’t feel comfortable with how close a living nativity scene is to their homes and the diehard live nativity fans of the world.

These articles will all point the finger at some group or team or conspiracy. But in reality, Christmas’ most formidable enemy is none other than the behemoth that is online shopping and their reigning king, Amazon.com.

As a child I remember how wonderful it felt to walk into a mall that had literally been turned into a winter wonderland complete with indoor trains and trees taller than I was. When I was a cool tween/teen I enjoyed complaining about being embarrassed by my family when we went on shopping trips, but I hoped to someday be like my hero, Arnold Schwarzenegger in the movie “Jingle All the Way,” fighting through the holiday shopping crowds and eventually reconciling with my nemesis, Sinbad.

But here I am sitting in my living room trying to figure out the absolute latest day I can buy everything on my Amazon wishlist and still have it shipped to my family before Christmas.

You used to have to bundle up, drive through at least one snow storm, and get in a screaming match with someone’s mom in the parking lot before you could even get inside the store to start shopping. Look at me now, I’m halfway through my shopping list and I’ve been wearing nothing but sweatpants and free t-shirts from 5k’s I didn’t run all month.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page