Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 11, 2012

GUEST VIEW: Setting record straight on parkway removal

Niagara Gazette — In 1997 the Niagara Heritage Partnership proposed that the Niagara gorge parkway be totally removed in the interest of restoring the natural environment that was once part of our heritage along the rim. As might have been predicted, opposition to removal was immediate. What we couldn’t have predicted was the nature of the opposition: Name calling, misinformation campaigns, political maneuvering, etc. Of course, the opposition’s idea of “compromise” was to keep the parkway — and still is, in some “reconfiguration” or the other — so that was a non-starter.

From very early on, by way of misinformation, the opposition said, “NHP wants to remove the parkway all the way to Youngstown.” But we never did and still don’t. This lie had legs, however. During the last election cycle, I got a robo-call informing me that candidate Amy Witryol wanted to remove the parkway. Of course, she’s never taken a position on the parkway issue, one way or the other, but why let facts get in the way of running a campaign?

At another time over the years since 1997, Sen. George Maziarz and Assemblyman John Cerreto, helped by Professor William Angus (and his students) at Niagara University initiated a bogus trolley-on-the-parkway “study.” The idea was to make this enterprise look so favorable that the proposal for parkway removal would be squashed. That failed when we pointed out what a scam the “study” was — and we’ve heard nothing more about it.

When the removal proposal had gained enough momentum to request funding from the Niagara River Greenway Commission for a scientific study, Maziarz and Richard Soluri, former Lewiston mayor, showed up unannounced at a greenway meeting where they both spoke at length against the funding being granted. Minutes after the meeting adjourned, Maziarz looked me in the face and said he had not spoken against the funding. Which was I to believe — him or my lying ears? I remember specifically some of what he said that day: “What about my studies?” he’d asked the committee members, petulantly. “I know they’re not scientific, but everyone I ask wants to keep the parkway.” That he’d confused the idea of a study with a personal, biased survey didn’t appear to occur to him.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page