Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 10, 2012

HIGGS: The Auxilia and its 'Gift' to Memorial

Niagara Gazette — Last time we learned about the early beginnings of our current NFMMC and the formation of the Women’s Auxiliary in 1905. This week we highlight the Gift Shop which has some history also.

The Gift Shop at Memorial Medical Center began back in 1950 where it shared space with the Corner Shop. Actually it only had a few shelves on which to showcase some incidental gifts to purchase.

It was operated at the time by the Niagara Falls Service League. The organization was a group of active female volunteers under the age of 40. The Auxiliary sold handmade knit and craft items in an adjacent display case.

The shop moved to an area now used by communications sometime in 1964. It was operated by both organizations and Bea Phelps represented the Auxiliary and Adrienne Miller was with the Service League then. The two groups shared the buying and staffing.

The Gift Shop moved again in 1971 to the upper lobby area where the volunteer information staff is now located. In 2004 they were moved again to the ground floor just at the bottom of the staircase to accommodate the information desk. It is not the most noticeable location but they have a window display adjacent to the elevator on the first floor which directs visitors to the shop and the full length glass windows showcase the items for sale.

Peg Addoms, who has been an Auxilian for 57 years, (yes I said 57 years) has been decorating the elevator showcase window for as long as it has been there. I caught her at it the other day and it was “looking good” as a work in progress.

A paid, part-time manager, Robert Cinelli was hired in June 1985 when the Service League disbanded and Diane Cockrell took over the responsibility on a full-time basis. She turned it into a full-scale gift shop with department store quality items. Succeeding managers included Eleanor Whelan, Pat Paris and now, Mary Norton who has 25 volunteers.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page