Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 8, 2012

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: ’Tis the season to be a card

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Mailers — We confess, we watch Bill O’Reilly, usually. We wince a lot, like when he said Irving Berlin wrote “Silent Night,” and at least once a night Polly shouts, “Bill, shut up and let her talk.” He doesn’t listen to Polly, either.

But as he wrapped up one night last week, we called “Hey, Bill, we do, we have for 50 years.” He had suggested, as an inexpensive Christmas gift (or holiday, if you prefer, which he doesn’t), sending a nice personal note to a friend.

We call them Christmas cards. Long may they reign. (Actually, about a half-dozen go to friends of other faiths; for them, we downplay the spirituality, but most respond and nobody ever complains).

We start no later than Dec. 1; this year, shortly after Thanksgiving, although we didn’t actually mail any until Nov. 30. And we’re sending fewer and fewer — cross off Brother Augustine, Nevart Apikian (a critic from Syracuse), old classmate Carol Achy. “All the ‘A’s’ are gone,” Polly said sadly.

There’s usually some family tension. Doug’s more anxious to start the process, sometimes dashing off one or two between sections of the paper. “Hey, Superman, how many’d you do today?” Polly asked while fixing breakfast. Soon, though, she’s passed him by. While they’re chiseled alphabetically into a Stone Age journal, we do them randomly, sort of hop-scotching through as we think of good times past. This year Doug started with the Yearke’s.

Doug’s haste often leads to waste. This year he had five cards out before Polly reminded him we had a picture to send, taken in August at his 60th high school reunion. Great. Blow another 45-cent stamp for the sake of narcissism? Doug bit his lip and (don’t let this get around) e-mailed the photo with an explanation, sort of a cyber P.S.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page