Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 5, 2013

CONFER: A cordial invitation to visit Confer Plastics open house

Niagara Gazette — For the eight years that I’ve written this column, Confer Plastics has had a recurring role in it.

The company has often been used as example when talking about the obstacles US manufacturers face when competing against the Chinas of the world. Similarly, I’ve used our experiences to express some of the concerns shared by New York-based small businesses when they compete against companies located in the more business-friendly political/economic climates of the Carolinas or Ohio.

Some subscribers to this newspaper have read so much about our family business that they want to experience it for themselves, just to see what it’s all about.

Now is your chance.

Confer Plastics just turned 40 years old and to celebrate that occasion, we are having on open house on April 4 at our plant at 97 Witmer Road in North Tonawanda (at the corner of Witmer and River roads).

Tours will start at the top and bottom of every hour from 11:00 a.m. until 7:30 p.m. Each tour will take approximately 45 minutes to complete. We will share the history of the company with you and then walk you through the plant floor, allowing you to see how we transform little plastic pellets into our name-branded swimming pool ladders or a variety of custom products like kayaks and docks.

If the closest that you’ve ever come to a factory is one of those “how it’s made” shows on cable TV, then you’re in for an eye-opening experience. Every year we take local organizations on tours of the plant and all of them walk away in total awe. As our society has changed over the years, most people have become unfamiliar with what goes on within a factory’s walls and many assume that US-based manufacturing is dead. We’ll be showing you that it’s very much alive and how exciting modern production can be. You’ll be seeing some of the largest blow molding machines in North America spitting out some impressive products. You’ll also see my equally-impressive army of coworkers transforming those items into quality finished goods. After witnessing so many moving parts and so many moving people, you’ll have a different appreciation for all of the various manufactured goods that you own.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page