Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 15, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Benefits of NYPA getting lost in salary talk

Niagara Gazette — An Aug. 14 editorial on a recent report by the state comptroller on the New York Power Authority (NYPA) repeated incorrect assertions, misstated facts and short-shrifted the major benefits that NYPA brings to Western New York and other parts of the state.

More than 30,000 jobs on the Niagara Frontier are directly tied to the low-cost hydropower from the Niagara Hydroelectric Power Plant. Thousands of other Western New York jobs are also linked to Governor Cuomo’s ReCharge NY program, administered by NYPA.

NYPA is providing more than $1 billion in benefits to the region from the 2007 relicensing of the Niagara plant. Other recent benefits include grants totaling nearly $7 million to area enterprises from the net earnings of unutilized hydropower, and the use of local contracting firms for major capital investments in the Niagara plant.

The Gazette inaccurately referred to the comptroller’s report as an audit. The Comptroller’s Office called it a “profile” and never contacted NYPA about any of the speculations in the report. Furthermore, the Gazette inaccurately reported NYPA’s debt as more than 100 times the actual amount. (Editor’s note: DiNapoli’s report details NYPA’s debt as $1.75 billion. A Wednesday editorial misstated the amount.)

Other facts:

• The combined value of NYPA’s salaries and benefits are significantly less than investor-owned electric utilities. NYPA must retain and attract a highly skilled work force to ensure the safe and reliable operation of its facilities. Close to two-thirds of NYPA’s positions are in technical and engineering fields.

• NYPA’s small eight-seat prop plane enhances efficiency by cutting travel time to difficult locations such as our St. Lawrence plant, where commercial flights are limited. It is used primarily by NYPA engineers and technical personnel — and only when it is the most cost-effective travel option.

These are key points, for clarity and accurate reporting.

Gil C. Quiniones is the president and chief executive officer of the New York Power Authority.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page