Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 15, 2013

GLYNN: Eydie Gorme in spotlight for TV show at Falls

Niagara Gazette — Since the early days of broadcasting Niagara Falls has always been spotlighted by radio and television networks and, of course, the movie industry. Scores of events have been carried coast-to-coast and even overseas (e.g. Nik Wallenda’s walk in 2012). At the dawn of the 20th century, the Shredded Wheat Co. Band, promoting its products and Niagara’s scenic wonder, was heard weekly on stations throughout the U.S. and Canada. In 1926, the famous Carborundum Band started to play on radio.

One of the highest rated programs on NBC-TV in 1955 was “The Tonight Show” that Steve Allen hosted from 1954 until 1957. That 105-minute show — instead of today’s 60-minute version — was brought to the Cataract City June 13, 1955, mostly through the efforts of the late Eddy Joseph, a veteran radio personality and longtime general manager of WHLD.

Eydie Gorme, 84, the popular singer who died last weekend, was center stage that night when she and Steve Lawrence were guests on the NBC “Tonight Show,” televised live from Goat Island. Two years later, in 1957, they became a husband-wife team. Among their notable duet singles recorded in earlier days on the Coral label: “Make Yourself Comfortable” (1954) and “Close Your Eyes (Take a Deep Breath)” (1955).

Longtime residents familiar with the extensive preparations for that live telecast from here — one of the first times that the show ventured away from its Manhattan studio — may recall the rift that a former manager of the state parks commission caused in the days leading up to the telecast. The story goes that the surly parks boss tried to dictate to Allen and the “Tonight Show” producers who should be the guests interviewed. In fact, the parks official backed down when Allen made it clear that the network was calling the shots and if the parks manager didn’t like that arrangement, the plans would be scrapped with the show returned to New York City.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page