Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 5, 2013

HIGGS: School bells are ringing again

Niagara Gazette — Ding dong — school bells ring — not to worry kids, it’s not for you (yet). It’s for me. I am back to my self-imposed assignment writing about city landmarks and the first part is about city schools. I touched on Hyde Park Elementary School a bit in the piece about” my own school years” as I was a student there for a short time.

Hyde Park School sits between Michigan and Linwood avenues at 1670 Hyde Park Boulevard. Built in 1928 as a three-story brick building with 25 classrooms, it was open for business in September of 1929. Simon and Russell Larke were the architects. Later in 1957, four classrooms and a gymnasium and auditorium were added bringing the total costs involved to $279,991.45.

According to my main source of information, Patricia Wilson Rice, this building “possesses several unique and unusual features.” She noted that beautiful sculptured animals are placed along the banister in each stairwell. “They are not only decorative, but serve to discourage sliding down the banisters.” I doubt that thought ever entered my mind during my time there. These animal sculptures and other sculpture designs are the works of Mrs. John Pierce Lange, a foremost sculptress in the history of Niagara Falls.

Other interesting features she mentioned were the beautiful tiles around the drinking fountains that were hand-painted in Spain. The school’s main entrance boasts ornamental border designs and a Mr. Ruben, described as an expert in brick design, used a special method in completing the exterior brickwork on this building. The first principal was Miss Gertrude M. Kurth. The current principal is Ms. S. Smith and the school is known as Hyde Park Elementary school.

In 1958, just after the gymnasium was completed, a tank car exploded at the nearby Niagara Junction Railway shaking the entire building. Guess it was fate that the gymnasium was recently completed as most of the younger students were there attending a function which was the safest place in the building.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Driven to distraction by recent incidents For reasons best left unexplained, Doug drives home from Niagara Falls at twilight many nights, usually alone. It's about 10 miles, 15 minutes, from pressbox to driveway. He exits I-190 at the Beaver Island ramp, hugging its right edge in deference to any mainstream traffic, which would be coming downhill from the left at a 140-degree angle.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig CHEERS & JEERS: The best - and worst - of the week for July 19

    This paving season has been like no other thanks to a particularly rough winter.

    July 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Council, administrative hypocrisy, and that is the gospel truth If there isn't a walk-on resolution on the Niagara Falls City Council's upcoming last agenda before the August recess to change the zoning back to what it was prior to the South End Niagara Gospel Rescue Mission opening its hearts and doors, then the city council should just cease its hypocritical practice of even saying prayers before the meeting.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page