Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 5, 2013

HIGGS: School bells are ringing again

Niagara Gazette — Ding dong — school bells ring — not to worry kids, it’s not for you (yet). It’s for me. I am back to my self-imposed assignment writing about city landmarks and the first part is about city schools. I touched on Hyde Park Elementary School a bit in the piece about” my own school years” as I was a student there for a short time.

Hyde Park School sits between Michigan and Linwood avenues at 1670 Hyde Park Boulevard. Built in 1928 as a three-story brick building with 25 classrooms, it was open for business in September of 1929. Simon and Russell Larke were the architects. Later in 1957, four classrooms and a gymnasium and auditorium were added bringing the total costs involved to $279,991.45.

According to my main source of information, Patricia Wilson Rice, this building “possesses several unique and unusual features.” She noted that beautiful sculptured animals are placed along the banister in each stairwell. “They are not only decorative, but serve to discourage sliding down the banisters.” I doubt that thought ever entered my mind during my time there. These animal sculptures and other sculpture designs are the works of Mrs. John Pierce Lange, a foremost sculptress in the history of Niagara Falls.

Other interesting features she mentioned were the beautiful tiles around the drinking fountains that were hand-painted in Spain. The school’s main entrance boasts ornamental border designs and a Mr. Ruben, described as an expert in brick design, used a special method in completing the exterior brickwork on this building. The first principal was Miss Gertrude M. Kurth. The current principal is Ms. S. Smith and the school is known as Hyde Park Elementary school.

In 1958, just after the gymnasium was completed, a tank car exploded at the nearby Niagara Junction Railway shaking the entire building. Guess it was fate that the gymnasium was recently completed as most of the younger students were there attending a function which was the safest place in the building.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page