Niagara Gazette

Opinion

August 3, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Scouting out services on the Isle

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Helping Hands — Got an awfully nice email last week from a Mainlander who’d just crossed over here and wondered what he could do to help out.

He’s a Scout leader, which service once evoked universal attaboys. Now, in these topsy-turvy times, too many with too little to do bash this noble institution. Sad. Anyway, he serves as Cubmaster, a position often assigned as discipline for missing a meeting. Been there, done that. If he doesn’t have a kid in the program, we miss our guess.

Cubmaster One, new to our shores, wrote to ask for suggestions on service projects for his charges. Wow. Doug inadvertently volunteered to master the pack at Kaegebein School in a long-ago October, shortly before a general election, and after the votes were cast we contacted the local candidates and asked if we could take down their campaign signs.

What a day that was. One office-seeker — who’d been defeated, if memory serves — gave us a few bucks for provisions, which we accepted out of courtesy, while trying to explain to the kids that we had not done this for the money. By nightfall we had enough wood for a bonfire, over which we toasted hot dogs and marshmallows. An unintended consequence was that they got to talking about the candidates, and what they stood for. Excuse us. Getting a little moisture on the keyboard here.

So that’s one to think of — there has to be SOME sort of voting in November — and ‘til then we thought about offering services to the Grand Island Miracle League. That’s the arrangement behind the library on Bedell Road which, through a unique surface, allows people who play the game differently to have their day on the diamond. Further, the interaction with folks less physically blessed could widen horizons to Cub Scouts, who are at a particularly impressionable age.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page