Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 14, 2013

HAMILTON: A reason to succeed, despite the circumstances

Niagara Gazette — Two American high school students have done something extraordinary. One of them have just scored a perfect Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT) score and the other has just won $75,000 on Alex Trebek’s Teen Jeopardy show. The two students have a lot in common with many other students across America, in that their successes are rooted in their ambitions, their parental support and in a school system that has dedicated itself to their success. But there are a couple of other things that make these two students, by birth, stand out: both of them are African-American males who did not use the color of their skins as an excuse to fail. In fact, they used it as a reason to succeed.

Though they are African-Americans, they are much, much more: they are Americans — period. And while Cameron Clarke, who attends the prestigious Germantown Academy of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, was one of only 360 of the roughly 15-million high school students in America to attain a perfect score, it is possible for any of our local Niagara Falls High School students of any color to do likewise, if they had the support he had. If Clarke’s parents had to pay for his 13-year education in one payment of today’s dollars, then their bill would be a seemingly whopping $320,000. You may say that, “Well, I can see how he made it. I could never pay that much for my child.”

Leonard Cooper, of the Little Rock, Arkansas’s eSTEM Public Charter School comes from a school district that spends an average of about $155,000 per student for those same 13-years; years that produced a Jeopardy-winner. While it is $165,000 less than Clarke’s Germantown Academy, it is also $82,000 less than what we spend per student in Niagara Falls. In fact, the average $237,000 that we spend per student for a 13-year education here is within $500 of the average cost of both of these boys’ education.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page