Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 6, 2013

EDITORIAL: Funding cuts make no sense

Niagara Gazette — The people spoke during Monday's meeting of the Niagara Falls City Council.

They packed a standing-room-only City Hall. More than 30 of them approached the podium to address city lawmakers.

The majority — all but a few — spoke in favor of continuing city funding for three longstanding community groups, including the Niagara Beautification Commission, the Niagara Falls Block Club and the Niagara Arts and Cultural Center. 

They're right. 

While we understand the unfortunate position of the city in light of the ongoing stalemate over casino revenue, now is not the time to reduce funding to the NBC or the block club, two groups whose volunteer members serve on the front lines in this community's never-ending battle against blight, crime and other quality of life concerns.  

There is never a good time to eviscerate a valued community institution like the NACC, a place where — as dozens of speakers noted Monday — residents and families gather to enjoy music, art, theatre and dance.

Such things may not be budgetary necessities and are certainly not as vital as, say, public safety. 

But, they have value as demonstrated by those 100 plus people, many of them taxpaying residents — who showed up Monday night to plea for the city's help in sustaining them. 

While we agree the NBC and the block clubs perform vital services, we feel compelled to echo the sentiment of the majority of the council meeting speakers who consider the NACC an especially important part of the Niagara Falls community. 

In addition to the community services offered on site, there are the 80 or so artists who rent space inside the building — talented people from the Falls, Lewiston, Buffalo and other parts of Western New York and even other parts of the country. The NACC has become a home away from home for many of them and they are contributing to the local economy every time they buy lunch at a restaurant on Pine Avenue or stop at a local convenience store for gas station. Indeed, several of these artists have taken up residence near the building, occupying previously unwanted properties on side streets near the intersection of Pine Avenue and Portage Road. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page