Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 30, 2013

GLYNN: Minimum wage proposal stirring some sharp debate

Niagara Gazette — It’s not a done deal by any means but there’s reason to think the state lawmakers are seriously weighing the possibility of passing Gov. Cuomo’s proposal to raise the minimum wage. 

The governor did not appear to push for raising the minimum wage until almost the end of the 2012 legislative session. At the time, the Republican-controlled state Senate opposed the measure, citing an adverse impact on small business owners. It would, in effect, “kill” jobs as some lawmakers contended. 

That’s precisely how Senate GOP Leader Dean Skelos of Long Island viewed the proposal to raise the wage to $8.75 per hour from $7.25. By advancing that plan as early as the past month, the governor is basically allowing the Republicans to either accept the idea or — in the worst case scenario — turn down the entire state spending plan. Still, Skelos is concerned that small business owners not be hurt by the wage hike.

Ken Pokalsky, who heads the New York State Business Council, notes that if the minimum wage proposal comes to fruition, it probably will result in some people losing their jobs. Others could find their weekly hours reduced. The council has estimated that new wage scale could cost the average business some $3,000 a year per worker.

•••

ADDED ATTRACTION: While the prime tourist season is still about four months away, the Western New York hospitality industry is excited over the prospects for the major addition to the Buffalo Transportation Pierce-Arrow Museum.

At present the museum in downtown Buffalo is closed for general admission during the construction of the Frank Lloyd Wright Filling Station on Michigan Avenue. Museum officials said the public should have full access to the facility in April, when the project is completed. A major event set for 2013 is the collection of pre-1969 Pierce-Arrow cars that are expected to be displayed adjacent to the museum on June 28 as part of the Great Race that will start June 22 in St. Paul, Minn., and continue across 10 states, finishing June 30 in Mobile, Ala.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page