Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 28, 2013

CITY DESK: When it comes to the DREAM Act -- wake up New York!

Niagara Gazette — Don’t you hate it when you are a devoted customer to a particular service and your provider offers some sweet deal to new customers, excluding you as if your loyalty doesn’t matter?

It drives me nuts to know that some guy who never had cable before gets a discount at sign-up while I’m obligated to pay the same full-price rate I’ve been paying for years.

I’m feeling the same way about New York’s push to authorize the DREAM Act, a bill that would provide financial aid and other assistance to college-bound illegal immigrants.

Yes, you heard that right, state Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver, Gov. Andrew Cuomo and other state lawmakers are supporting the Development, Relief and Education for Alien Minors Act as a way to, as Bronx-Westchester Democrat Jeffrey Klein has said, “help educate thousands of smart young people from around the world who have moved here to pursue the American dream.”

I’m all for education and I’m not against people from other countries coming to America to better themselves.

But, then, I can’t help but ask the obvious: Should it come at the expense of our kids? 

I have several young people in my family who are struggling to make good on outstanding college loans. 

The cash-strapped state can find and mine money for illegal immigrants, but can’t come up with a few million to do more to help them? 

What about their American dream? They are, after all, Americans. 

In our own office, we have two young reporters who entered the workforce with considerable college debt. They are gainfully employed and attempting to work off what they owe. I don’t hear anyone in Albany talking about wanting to help people like them — actual American citizens who earned their education in the state who have continued to contribute to the local economy after graduation. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page