Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 12, 2013

GLYNN: Casino issue returns to upstate New York in 2013

Niagara Gazette —  Whenever you hear talk about boosting economic development in upstate New York, don't get too excited.

It could be just another promise to funnel state funds into Poughkeepsie, Glens Falls or Old Forge in the Adirondack Mountains, a favorite summer place for the state chief executive and his family. Even if the target area is Western New York, the Buffalo-Niagara region may be left out of the loop.

Now Gov. Cuomo has gone up on the mountain — his recent State of the State gave that  impression — to announce his vision for three new casinos to bolster the struggling upstate communities. 

The Cataract City, of course, is not part of the governor's grandiose scheme because Niagara Falls already has an Indian-operated casino and, as Cuomo explained, the state certainly has no intention of breaking any compact with the Native Americans. He told reporters Thursday: "We're not going to violate any contracts that are in good standing. Get them to go upstate and use the casino/resort destination as the magnet to bring people up," Cuomo added. Part of the problem is defining "upstate."

What's hard to believe in all this casino hype is that countless tourists visiting New York are going to fly, drive or ride Amtrak upstate to bet at any casino. These sites will be glorified gambling halls, nothing as glitzy and inviting as the palaces in Las Vegas or Atlantic City. Imagine, for a fleeting moment, a casino in Newburgh, upstate by Cuomo standards. You could easily spend a whole week there some Saturday night after you quit playing the slots.

Some observers familiar with Cuomo's uncanny ability to shift strategy on key issues contend that, if the state ends up legalizing casino gambling, he may eventually decide that downstate also needs to boost its economy (e.g. a casino at the refurbished Aqueduct Race Track.) You may recall the governor had that in mind when he suggested the state-of-the-art convention center at that track in the Borough of Queens.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page