Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 25, 2012

BRADBERRY: Keeping the Spirit year round

Niagara Gazette — For many Christmas is over once their gifts are opened; for some, it’s just the beginning.

Of course, traditions vary from family to family, culture to culture, religion to religion; some exchange gifts on Christmas Eve, some celebrate for days, some don’t acknowledge or celebrate Christmas at all, some can’t afford to participate in the tradition while others tend to completely overdo it.

But just about everyone, regardless of culture, religion or tradition can catch “the Christmas Spirit.”

Ok, so without pontificating, here’s my take, as inspired by my mother, many years ago on the question; Just what is the “Christmas Spirit”?

It’s the spirit of graciously giving, and receiving; it has little to do with material things except as expressions of actual appreciation.

Corny as it sounds, Christmas is about love, peace and understanding.

But you could not convince me of that when I was a kid; to me and my siblings, Christmas was all about the toys.

When we awoke from our shallow sleep one Christmas morning more than 50 years ago, a scale model train was chugging around the base of the Christmas tree barely missing the Easy-Bake Oven that Santa (aka Mom and Dad) had carefully staged for me and my sisters to discover while they slept-in, no doubt exhausted from a late night of back breaking Elf work.

Lined up near the front door, a row of bicycles and tricycles, each equipped with shinny bells and squeeze-horns; their distinctive, if not annoying sounds triggered every time one of us stumbled through the rubble of Christmas stocking goodies and shredded wrapping paper to honk a horn and ding the bells adding to the shrill cacophony of a joyous children’s pre-dawn Christmas morning.

Sleepy eyed, tired and weary, having only moments earlier laid down their heads to rest after a Christmas Eve that included Midnight Mass with the family, Mom and Dad emerged from their room to sit and watch the fruits of their labor.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page