Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 25, 2012

BRADBERRY: Keeping the Spirit year round

Niagara Gazette — For many Christmas is over once their gifts are opened; for some, it’s just the beginning.

Of course, traditions vary from family to family, culture to culture, religion to religion; some exchange gifts on Christmas Eve, some celebrate for days, some don’t acknowledge or celebrate Christmas at all, some can’t afford to participate in the tradition while others tend to completely overdo it.

But just about everyone, regardless of culture, religion or tradition can catch “the Christmas Spirit.”

Ok, so without pontificating, here’s my take, as inspired by my mother, many years ago on the question; Just what is the “Christmas Spirit”?

It’s the spirit of graciously giving, and receiving; it has little to do with material things except as expressions of actual appreciation.

Corny as it sounds, Christmas is about love, peace and understanding.

But you could not convince me of that when I was a kid; to me and my siblings, Christmas was all about the toys.

When we awoke from our shallow sleep one Christmas morning more than 50 years ago, a scale model train was chugging around the base of the Christmas tree barely missing the Easy-Bake Oven that Santa (aka Mom and Dad) had carefully staged for me and my sisters to discover while they slept-in, no doubt exhausted from a late night of back breaking Elf work.

Lined up near the front door, a row of bicycles and tricycles, each equipped with shinny bells and squeeze-horns; their distinctive, if not annoying sounds triggered every time one of us stumbled through the rubble of Christmas stocking goodies and shredded wrapping paper to honk a horn and ding the bells adding to the shrill cacophony of a joyous children’s pre-dawn Christmas morning.

Sleepy eyed, tired and weary, having only moments earlier laid down their heads to rest after a Christmas Eve that included Midnight Mass with the family, Mom and Dad emerged from their room to sit and watch the fruits of their labor.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page