Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 22, 2012

HIGGS: Three Cheers for the NACC

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — That is not all. I am a member of the board of directors of this unique organization and at our recent meeting I was amazed to receive a draft of events for 2013. While not in final form, it included the popular Art of Beer, a Quilt and Fabric Festival, the annual Easter Egg Hunt held on the spacious front lawn, a Native America Bird Concert, three possible dinner theatre presentations, and the popular JAZZ and Ontario House Reunion presented each August. This is in addition to the six exhibits in the main gallery mentioned above.

And, that is still not all! In conjunction with the Erwin Johnson Memorial Fund’s “Opera Day (Oct. 18) and Opera Week (Oct. 26 through Nov. 4) in Buffalo/Niagara, a free, Hillman Opera’s Opera Informance on Opera Day (Oct. 28) will be held at the Niagara Arts and Cultural Center at 4 p.m. following the performance in Buffalo at 2 p.m. at Westminster. The NACC performance will feature cast members singing excerpts from two operas, Suor Angelica and Gianni Schicchi, directed and narrated by Professor Julie Newell, SUNY Fredonia. Attendees can meet the cast at the Opera Poster Exhibition and reception following the performance. The NACC portion is sponsored by the Niagara Falls Bridge Commission as the entire Opera Week timeframe is a bi-national effort with performances in Niagara Falls, Ont., and Toronto. Other events will take place in Orchard Park, East Aurora, and Rochester. Check out the website www.celebrateoperawny.org.

Erie County Executive Mark Poloncarz and Niagara Falls Mayor Paul A. Dyster will read proclamations from Erie County and Niagara Falls respectively on Opera Day opening ceremonies. Portions of this week are funded by Opera Volunteers International.

There is still so much more! Students of the former Niagara Falls High School will remember the 900 seat auditorium where our graduation ceremonies took place. Our large class of 1957 was split into two nights alphabetically to accommodate friends and families. It is now the home of the Grand Theater and has been the topic of many of our monthly meetings as serious plans for restoration and renovation are in the works. If only we had the funding! It is used minimally by outside groups for events such as dance competitions, stage productions, rehearsals and the like.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: MH17 Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page