Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 8, 2013

HIGGS: A closer look at First Presbyterian Church

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette —

The First Presbyterian Church has the honor of being the oldest building still in use as a church as it dates back to 1849. Its congregation has been among the leaders of religious life in Niagara Falls. The Historical Preservation Commission website traces the early history of the founding of the church back to Manchester (later Niagara Falls) when it was initiated in 1824 by the original five members: The Rev. David Smith, the Isaac Smith family, Mrs. Stephen Childs and Abraham Mesler.

“On Nov. 28, 1826, a public meeting was held to officially organize the “First Presbyterian Society of Niagara.” They met in the schoolhouse at Falls and Mechanic (later Prospect Street) until 1831, when a new wooden church was built at the corner of Falls and First Streets.” The Union Chapel as it was named was a small building built by General Whitney for the use of all denominations including the Methodists and Episcopalians. The church bell was hung outside as this structure had no steeple. It is believed this may have been the first church building in the community of Manchester.

An article in the Niagara Falls Gazette edition of Feb. 17, 1962, by staff writer Dick Klug noted that the Rev. Horatio A. Parsons led the Presbyterian congregation here for seven years until 1834. The building was later sold to a group of Methodists. In 1849 the present stone church was built at a construction cost of $8,000 which came from the Porter family.

Klug stated that membership was slow to grow as records indicate the congregation stood at 86 in 1852 at the time of the building completion. Twenty-five years later it had increased to 159. The Rev. John Bacon became the pastor in 1876 and served until 1883. Following his departure, the Rev. C. S. Stowitz served for seven years. Then the Rev. Albert S. Bacon, the nephew of Rev. John Bacon, became the longest serving pastor with some 38 years to his credit. He actually became Pastor Emeritus for two years following his retirement until his death in 1930. Bacon Memorial United Presbyterian Church in LaSalle on 59th Street was named in his honor. The Rev. Bacon helped the membership grow to 1,000 by 1928, the year of his retirement and was “Beloved by the whole community,” as church records state. Obviously over the following years, there were numerous pastors (too many to mention here) who served the church with dignity and respect.

Klug described the basic governing precept of Presbyterianism which differs from Episcopacy where the clergy rules, as members of a Presbyterian congregation exercise direct rule known as congregationalism. The First Presbyterian Church was governed by a Board of Elders consisting of 21 elected members of the congregation.

Next time we will learn more about the building itself.

 

 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page