Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 8, 2013

SINGER: The recollection of hockey icons

Niagara Gazette — A long-running Sabres coach, whose tenure coincided with the span of many young fans’ lives here, made a triumphant return earlier this fall at the helm of the Dallas Stars, receiving an ovation.

That notwithstanding, Mr. Ruff’s autobiography would probably not be a splendid read. My feeling is that people who are great in their disciplines are those whose memoirs, even when co-written, are most worth picking up.

And that’s absolutely true of the hockey realm. Of course for a long time there was heated debate on the greatest ever, which is hard to judge, given that eras are so different in this, as in any pro sport.

But two names that once floated regularly to the top were Wayne Gretzky, and from an earlier period, Gordie Howe, the latter lasting on ice almost as long as Methuselah. Predictably, the “Great One’s” memoir (“Gretzky: An Autobiography”) is a fine read all the way.

As for Howe, aficionados ought to scare up a long, marvelously full family production called “And... Howe!” —because Gordie was not only a great hockey player, but a wonderful family man; and his late wife Colleen, and pro alumni sons, Mark and Marty, contribute greatly to recollections here.

Odd perhaps, given that on ice Howe was as brutal as he was sweet at home. Why brutal? Not out of sadism, but because to survive when less than 200 in the world made Original Six teams and were as expendable as bottle caps, you had to out-crazy your opponent, as he put it! Gordie’s elbows were legendary, and when I saw him play as a young ‘un, I wondered how a guy who looked ponderous out there could have the puck so frequently nailed to his stick. One reason was that he inflicted stitches like a surgeon, and even in the case of a pesky young Mikita, a one-punch KO (behind the net and while play was still going!) to gain both respect and ice room.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page