Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 10, 2013

GLYNN: Visitors seem confused about state park status

Niagara Gazette — The federal government shutdown, as you might expect, has raised countless questions including what parks, attractions and vacation spots are affected. After all, that could have a major impact on travelers’ itineraries as well as the tourist industry in general.

To address that concern, the Niagara Tourism & Convention Corp. provides a recorded telephone message for visitors inquiring about the natural wonder here. Basically, callers are reminded that the Niagara Falls State Park — the oldest such park in the U.S. — is still open seven days a week. It is not any part of the National Park Service, the sites owned and operated by the federal government.

It’s incredible the number of people who simply don’t realize the difference, according to NTCC President John Percy. Such confusion could severely impact the traditional influx of off-season tourists, he noted. The Niagara area has always been high on the list of favorite stopovers for the thousands of fall visitors to the Finger Lakes, Corning Glass Center and Letchworth State Park, among other destinations. 

Actually there are few tourist attractions or related facilities the federal government operates in Western New York. One is the Theodore Roosevelt Site on Delaware Avenue, Buffalo, where TR was inaugurated after President McKinley was assassinated in September 1901 while visiting the Pan-American Exposition. in the Queen City.

“We were swamped with calls from people who were concerned whether this site (Niagara Falls State Park) was still open,” Percy said. He noted that October is an ideal time for many travelers (e.g leaf peepers) and motorcoach tours. Losing any part of that business as the result of misinformation could deal a severe blow to the tourist trade here. Angela Berti, public relations and marketing director for the regional state parks agency, also has been assisting the NTCC to get the word out to hoteliers and others in the hospitality industry that the Cataract City remains open and ready to welcome visitors.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page