Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 28, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Ripping good time for the Rotary Club

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Pack Rats — Shreddy, set, go! After today’s Taste of Grand Island (it’s not too late to eat, but it may be too late to park), we gear up for Destruction Day, next Saturday, Oct. 5, behind Key Bank at Grand Island Boulevard and Whitehaven.

Between 10 a.m. and 1 p.m., we’re all invited to bring up our unwanted papers, particularly if they contain personal information, and have the Rotary Club reduce them to mulch. The cost is $10 per “banker box,” whatever that is. All proceeds fund Rotarian causes, which are never called into question.

As we read some five daily newspapers and a dozen magazines, our clutter piles up at Blizzard of ‘77 proportions, although there’s seldom anything there we couldn’t share. But one thing that’s going right on top of the pile is a letter we received in July attacking us for a column on grammar. All these big issues, and a misplaced modifier sends an anonymous reader into a snit.

We say “anonymous” because it had a return address that turned out to be phony, a “cc” line to folks who told us they never received a copy, and claimed that our work was the laughingstock of one local high school English department. We polled the department; most said, somewhat apologetically, “we never heard of you.” By the time we wearied of sleuthing, we had three new correspondents, all electronic, fortunately, or we’d have more for the Rotary shredders.

We’d be glad to share the insulting text with you (e-mail, and we’ll send it along) but Saturday out it goes, an sad exemplar of angry, creative energy that could have been so well channeled elsewhere. Next, expired coupons, credit solicitations, drafts of columns that never quite made it, theatrical notes we couldn’t find before writing the review but discovered the day after it was filed and the photo copy of Doug’s birth certificate, which nobody would believe anyway.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Kangaroo Rescued From Swimming Pool Raw: 3 American Doctors Killed in Afghanistan Raw: Obama Arrives at State Dinner in Tokyo Raw: Obama Plays Soccer With Japanese Robot Raw: Obama Visits Meiji Shrine in Tokyo Stars Talk Guns N' Roses at Golden Gods New Pictures of Ship That Sank in 1888 Oregon Gay Marriage Ban Goes to Court SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye'
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page