Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 26, 2013

GLYNN: Author opts for book signing site at cemetery

Niagara Gazette — That any author would choose a cemetery to autograph a new book is baffling, to say the least.

For Alexis O’Neill, a former school teacher and expert on books for children, it makes perfect sense. In fact, it’s an appropriate location for the subject of her book (easy for children age 8 and up to read) is Homan Walsh, a boy raised in Niagara Falls and buried in Oakwood Cemetery. You’ll hear even more reasons for the site selection if you attend “Family Day” activities Saturday at Oakwood Cemetery.

People familiar with local history, especially the falls and river, probably know that Walsh earned a place in history for winning a kite-flying contest here. In 1848, he won the $10 prize when his kite was the first to span the Niagara Gorge, stretching from Niagara Falls, Ont., to Niagara Falls, N.Y. That feat was considered a vital factor in determining the location for the new Suspension Bridge between the U.S. and Canada.

Walsh, a native of Ireland, is the central character, in O’Neill’s latest children’s book,”The Kite That Bridged Two Nations” (Calkins Creek, 40 pages, hardcover, $16.95). The historical fiction approach works fine for the author who spent nearly four years researching and writing the incredible story of a 16-year-old boy whose unique contribution brought two nations together.

On Saturday, O’Neill will launch her book as part of “Family Day,” sponsored by the Oakwood Cemetery Association, 763 Portage Road, from 1 to 4 p.m. The free program will include kite-making, free posters (while they last), and a special treat for anyone whose last name is Walsh. (Additional information is available from local historian Pete Ames (297-4429) or via e-mail: repetie@yahoo.com 

O’Neill, who has won numerous awards for her books, has also served as a museum education consultant and a regional advisor for the Society of Children’s Books & Illustrators. Among her other popular works: “The Recess Queen” (Scholastic); “The Worst Best Friend” (Scholastic); “Estella’s Swap” (Lee & Low Books); and “Loud Emily” (Simon & Schuster).

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page