Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 23, 2013

HIGGS: School bell rings for LaSalle High School

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — The school design was completed by the combined, associated architectural firms of Sargent, Webster, Crenshaw and Folley of Syracuse and Cannon, Thiele, Betz and Cannon of Niagara Falls. The general contractor was the James W. Rouse Construction Corporation of Gouverneur. It was designed to personify the concept of a complete school plant and the educational process was to emphasize factual learning and the development of social skills. These comments were taken from “School Bells Ring, compiled and written by Patricia Wilson Rise.

The new high school was designed to consist of four main buildings placed to form a courtyard. The “A” building housed the home economics, sciences, mathematics and commercial classes. The C building was where the academic courses were held and where the school library was. There were many windows in this building to utilize the natural light of the sun to the fullest. The auditorium had the latest acoustical features and seats for 1,378. It was located on the north side of the quadrangle and contained the only decorative work in the school design. There were beautiful colored, mosaic tiles with interspersed stonework, making a grand front entrance. There was a football field and softball diamonds on the 50-acre plot on Military Road near Pine within the city limits. Elton C. Schwinger was the first principal of the new high school.

I found some references to the 1961 graduation on June 28-29 in the Niagara Falls Gazette. A list of 285 seniors received diplomas during two commencement programs according to Peter Gugino, the school principal at the time. This was the 28th annual graduation for the LaSalle area High School and the fifth commencement in the Military Road School completed in 1957.

Scholarship were awarded to several seniors including a $1,000 music grant to Oberlin College to Larry F. Ferris, a Naval ROTC scholarship to Penn State to F. Spencer Gauch and a $1,000 annually for four years to Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute scholarship to John P.Hazel. Female students included Judith Hill who received a $700 College Club scholarship, Alice Staub, $300, Council of Mothers’ Clubs and Cynthia Arthur, $300 from the Niagara Falls Teachers Association. Diplomas were awarded by George Kauber, president of the Board of Education and board member, Peter Longhine. Weldon R. Oliver was superintendent of schools and Harry F. Abate was deputy superintendent for instruction. Next time we will see what happened to this “state-of-the-art school.”

Bet you know already.

Norma Higgs serves with the Niagara Beautification Commission and Niagara Falls Block Club Council.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page