Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 21, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: New location on the menu for Taste of Grand Island

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Diners — Let the fasting begin. Precisely one week remains before the annual sequel to the Taste of Grand Island, which organizational genius Corey McGowan thrust upon a hungrily-curious populace about 11 months ago.

We can hardly remember an event of similar scope launched with so few hitches. Even with the Viking football team playing at home, several restaurants ran out of items late in the day, which is fine with us, and then it rained just as things were starting to break down, perfect timing.

Even the fussiest of us couldn’t complain, although later in the day when the “B Team” cashiers caused some slow-down at the booths. Doug still has a ticket left over.

Government paid the Taste of Grand Island the ultimate compliment, proposing up a whole bunch of legislation to regulate such events. No matter what it is, government can always do it better. (Pause here while Doug searches, in vain, for a pen at the post office.) Actually, Supervisor Mary Cooke was pretty much on board from the beginning, and the flurry of post-event paperwork was no doubt intended to cover some seats.

Anyway, Corey himself wasn’t keen on the way the Taste kind of snaked around its venue, around the rear entrances to the various stores in our mid-town plaza. Part of last year’s Taste celebrated the brand-new mural which turned an eyesore into a colorful display of Island pride, and so it made sense to work around the centerpiece, even if it wasn’t in the center.

In short, Corey fairly felt that not all display spaces were created equal.

So this year, the Taste moves to the Boulevard itself, occupying one leg of the triangle which defines our town center (excuse the mathematical mixed metaphor.) McDonald’s is on that block, and so is Polly’s favorite nail place, and we can’t imagine what that portends, but if you were planning on a Big Mac or a lacquer job, we’d suggest going on Friday. The result should create a street festival atmosphere with booths lining the Boulevard.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page