Niagara Gazette

Opinion

September 21, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: New location on the menu for Taste of Grand Island

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Diners — Let the fasting begin. Precisely one week remains before the annual sequel to the Taste of Grand Island, which organizational genius Corey McGowan thrust upon a hungrily-curious populace about 11 months ago.

We can hardly remember an event of similar scope launched with so few hitches. Even with the Viking football team playing at home, several restaurants ran out of items late in the day, which is fine with us, and then it rained just as things were starting to break down, perfect timing.

Even the fussiest of us couldn’t complain, although later in the day when the “B Team” cashiers caused some slow-down at the booths. Doug still has a ticket left over.

Government paid the Taste of Grand Island the ultimate compliment, proposing up a whole bunch of legislation to regulate such events. No matter what it is, government can always do it better. (Pause here while Doug searches, in vain, for a pen at the post office.) Actually, Supervisor Mary Cooke was pretty much on board from the beginning, and the flurry of post-event paperwork was no doubt intended to cover some seats.

Anyway, Corey himself wasn’t keen on the way the Taste kind of snaked around its venue, around the rear entrances to the various stores in our mid-town plaza. Part of last year’s Taste celebrated the brand-new mural which turned an eyesore into a colorful display of Island pride, and so it made sense to work around the centerpiece, even if it wasn’t in the center.

In short, Corey fairly felt that not all display spaces were created equal.

So this year, the Taste moves to the Boulevard itself, occupying one leg of the triangle which defines our town center (excuse the mathematical mixed metaphor.) McDonald’s is on that block, and so is Polly’s favorite nail place, and we can’t imagine what that portends, but if you were planning on a Big Mac or a lacquer job, we’d suggest going on Friday. The result should create a street festival atmosphere with booths lining the Boulevard.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page