Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 28, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Symposium was just start for Main Street, the Falls

Niagara Gazette — We have to start by sincerely thanking all of the participants, supporters, sites and anyone else that contributed to the success of the Main Street Symposium on March 9.

One hundred participants came out on a beautiful March afternoon to share, discuss, and strategize ways to breathe life back into Main Street and Niagara Falls. The event brought together younger residents along with their energy, vision and drive — with veteran residents who brought experience, knowledge and an energy and vision of their own. It brought together people from throughout the region, bridging the perceived gap between Buffalo and Niagara Falls. It brought together both local and national experts, in fields related to economic development, to not only share their ideas but to listen to the ideas of others and to provide constructive feedback.

We had over four hours of positive and constructive conversation. The event was not political, and everyone’s opinion held equal value. The real work started the minute the symposium ended. Now it’s time for action. It’s time for those people who came ready-for-change to make it happen. And, as we found out during the symposium, it doesn’t take a multi-million dollar economic development project to constitute change. For many years, Niagara Falls has had its fair share of impressive renderings from master developers that are never carried out. Instead of just talking about what could be, we are focused on a neighborhood building strategy, block by block, and finding ways to help give vacant lots and storefronts a second life. That strategy is what the Main Street Symposium was all about.

Yes, there were many “young people” in attendance at the symposium, including us, and we all received tremendous support during and since the event. But, to be extra clear, we are not children’with a naive view of the world, as the term “young” may suggest. We are current and future homeowners, taxpayers and investors in our community. We want Niagara Falls to succeed because we are setting up our roots here. We are in it for the long haul. We ignore statements like “ideas do not mean anything” or “this is Niagara Falls and things will never change” because that type of thinking is self destructive. Negativity, division and petty politics will never create jobs, make our streets look better, or get our young people to build their lives here.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case Author Gabriel Garcia Marquez Dead at 87 Beau Biden Plans 2016 Run for Del. Governor Chelsea Clinton Is Pregnant Horseless Carriage Introduced at NY Auto Show Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page