Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 24, 2013

GLYNN: Wallenda walk might link two continents

Niagara Gazette — There’s no end to Nik Wallenda’s bucket list, if you listen to the high-wire artist.

Instead of resting on his laurels after walking across Niagara Falls last year, he will soon begin training for his next trip — minus a harness — over the Grand Canyon on June 23. For the record, he won’t be setting foot in or above the property owned and operated by the National Park Service. Instead he’ll be performing what some people describe as a death-defying stunt on a part of the sprawling Navajo Indian Reservation, 1,500 feet above the Little Colorado River. The reserve is just east of the park.

Wallenda, who was here Friday night to accept the Niagara USA Niagara Chamber of Commerce “Visionary Award,” is bound to return in June when his book, “Balance,” will be released. No word yet where he will autograph copies but the regional state parks visitors center would be an appropriate site.

As for that bucket list, somewhere along the line he’s thinking of walking from one continent to another — from Europe to Asia — via a high wire in Istanbul.

•••

HELPING HANDS DEPT.: Sister Beth Brosmer, OSF, executive director of Heart, Love & Soul Inc., reminds us that space is limited for the agency’s annual recognition dinner April 25. She urged that people reserve their seats by April 12.

Tickets are $50 per person (Table of eight — $400) Reservations can be made via mail (Heart & Soul, 939 Ontario Ave., Niagara Falls, NY, 14305 or e-mail: elizabethb1946@gmail.com Secure parking will be available for all attendees.

The dinner will be prepared by students from the Niagara University College of Hospitality and Tourism Management under the direction of Scott Beahen, who heads the NU food operations.

Heart & Soul provides breakfast for an average of 45 persons a day and lunch for 160. In 2012, the dining room served 49,599 meals and the pantry supplied 100,451 meals to 7,727 people. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page