Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 21, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Examples of courage and cowardice

Niagara Gazette — The filthy game of politics shouldn’t surprise me, but occasionally, it does.

On March 9, I attended the annual Niagara Falls Firefighters Ball and Awards Dinner along with many other firefighters, Niagara Falls residents, and elected officials. The crowd of dignitaries included Mayor Paul Dyster, Councilwoman Kristen Grandinetti, Assemblyman John Ceretto and Sen. George Maziarz. We were all in attendance to honor two firefighters that went beyond the call of duty in an attempt to rescue a man who fell through the ice at Hyde Park Lake late last winter.

The two honorees, Battalion Chief Dan Boland and Captain Jason Zona, were hailed as heroes for placing themselves in imminent risk of danger when they plunged themselves in the frigid waters of Hyde Park to attempt a rescue without the aid of any safety equipment.

Justifiably so, these two men received the highest award given by the Niagara Falls Fire Department.

Meanwhile, while hundreds were gathered to celebrate the fire service and our two honored heroes, a systematic attack was launched on one of the honored heroes. Zona is also a Niagara County Legislator that represents the Town of Niagara and Niagara Falls.

As a legislator, Zona has championed fiscal responsibility and he has exposed the majority caucus’s rampant patronage and waste.

Of course, when Zona takes on the entrenched Niagara County politicians that have been running our county in the ground for the last decade, he makes political enemies. These political enemies launched a “robo-call” attack throughout his legislative district.

The substance of the robo-call was patently false and misleading. They claim, falsely, that Zona doled out a patronage position to a long-term employee thereby costing the county taxpayers. This is simply not true.

Legislators do not hire employees. Rather, the county’s department heads and directors are charged with the responsibility of hiring employees. However, the robo-call falsely asserts otherwise.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page