Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 21, 2013

GLYNN: Wallenda to receive Chamber's Visionary Award

Niagara Gazette — Nick Wallenda, who made headlines around the globe for his high-wire walk across the Horseshoe Falls last June, is returning to the Cataract City this weekend.

Earlier, the Niagara USA Chamber named him as the recipient of its Visionary Award, among several people to be honored Friday night during the agency’s annual dinner at the Seneca Niagara Events Center.

Earlier in the day, Wallenda will be a guest on “Viewpoint,” a popular talk show on radio station WJJL (1440) hosted by Tom Darro. Wallenda is expected to update listeners on his plan to walk over the Grand Canyon this summer. He also is looking forward to his book set for publication in June.

Known as ‘King of the High Wire,’ Wallenda, 34, will be entering into Evel Knievel land with his performance 1,500 feet above the Little Colorado River. Wallenda make several references to his Grand Canyon walk while he was in Niagara Falls preparing for the Niagara Gorge crossing. Earlier this week, on NBC’s “Today” show, he told co-anchor Matt Lauer that it (Grand Canyon) was just “another one on the bucket list” of places he’s wanted to traverse via tightrope. 

He wore a safety harness for his walk at Niagara. He doesn’t intend to use either a harness or a net when crossing the canyon.

Wallenda said he is dedicating the walk this summer to his great-grandfather, Karl Wallenda, who died after falling from a tightrope in Puerto Rico in 1978.

Knievel once wanted to make a jump across the Grand Canyon but the U.S. Department of Interior denied him airspace. Later, he tried a jump on a rocket-powered cycle across the Snake River Canyon in Idaho in 1974. That effort failed but he suffered only minor injuries, according to the report.

•••

OFF & RUNNNG: New York City Comptroller John C. Liu has a sense of humor, something a lot of our own politicians seem to lack these days. Launching is mayoral campaign in the Big Apple, Liu was asked at a school in Harlem whether he should be called “comptroller” or “controller.” He told the students: “I prefer comptroller. I’d rather comp people than con people.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 U.N. School in Gaza Hit by Israeli Strike Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Officials Warn of Avoidable Death in Hot Cars Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' House Committee at Odds Over Obama Lawsuit Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands Raw: UN School Used As Shelter Hit by Tank Shell Raw: Gunmen Attack Iraqi Prison Convoy Plane Leaves Ukraine With More Crash Victims The Rock Brings Star Power to Premiere Raw: Families Travel to Taiwan Plane Crash Site Arizona Execution Takes Almost Two Hours Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page