Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 21, 2013

GLYNN: Wallenda to receive Chamber's Visionary Award

Niagara Gazette — Nick Wallenda, who made headlines around the globe for his high-wire walk across the Horseshoe Falls last June, is returning to the Cataract City this weekend.

Earlier, the Niagara USA Chamber named him as the recipient of its Visionary Award, among several people to be honored Friday night during the agency’s annual dinner at the Seneca Niagara Events Center.

Earlier in the day, Wallenda will be a guest on “Viewpoint,” a popular talk show on radio station WJJL (1440) hosted by Tom Darro. Wallenda is expected to update listeners on his plan to walk over the Grand Canyon this summer. He also is looking forward to his book set for publication in June.

Known as ‘King of the High Wire,’ Wallenda, 34, will be entering into Evel Knievel land with his performance 1,500 feet above the Little Colorado River. Wallenda make several references to his Grand Canyon walk while he was in Niagara Falls preparing for the Niagara Gorge crossing. Earlier this week, on NBC’s “Today” show, he told co-anchor Matt Lauer that it (Grand Canyon) was just “another one on the bucket list” of places he’s wanted to traverse via tightrope. 

He wore a safety harness for his walk at Niagara. He doesn’t intend to use either a harness or a net when crossing the canyon.

Wallenda said he is dedicating the walk this summer to his great-grandfather, Karl Wallenda, who died after falling from a tightrope in Puerto Rico in 1978.

Knievel once wanted to make a jump across the Grand Canyon but the U.S. Department of Interior denied him airspace. Later, he tried a jump on a rocket-powered cycle across the Snake River Canyon in Idaho in 1974. That effort failed but he suffered only minor injuries, according to the report.

•••

OFF & RUNNNG: New York City Comptroller John C. Liu has a sense of humor, something a lot of our own politicians seem to lack these days. Launching is mayoral campaign in the Big Apple, Liu was asked at a school in Harlem whether he should be called “comptroller” or “controller.” He told the students: “I prefer comptroller. I’d rather comp people than con people.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page