Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 17, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Giving our seniors a sense of place in Lewiston

Niagara Gazette — What is a sense of place? A sense of place is a state of mind. A sense of place is described as a space or place in which we are comfortable. A sense of place is that physical or psychological environment that is pleasant, safe, socially comfortable and enjoyable. In essence the elements that make up a sense of place become our safe haven.

For Lewiston’s seniors their safe haven is their center. No one will argue where this center sits is peaceful, quiet and beautiful, and it’s for those reasons this site was chosen, and why our seniors wish to stay. But, some are proposing they leave this peaceful, comfortable haven for something else and to this our seniors respond, thank you, but we’d rather stay where we are.

At a recent meeting regarding the proposed Lewiston Recreation and Senior Center, I expressed the thoughts and wishes of many seniors who have contacted me about their displeasure of having to leave their present center.

While I was speaking a Lewiston Town Board member interrupted me in an attempt to challenge my creditability with regard to my speaking on behalf of Lewiston’s seniors. Obviously this gentleman has either been out of town for the last 20-plus years or in need of some memory medicine. My involvement with the seniors started 25 years ago delivering Meals on Wheels, continued as a member of and chairman of Lewiston’s Senior Advisory Board and concluded as a town board liaison to the Senior Department.

As a member of the Senior Advisory Board we recommended the purchase of the center and advocated for the senior housing complex located on Upper Mountain Road. For many years I was a member of both the Lewiston and Sanborn seniors, for this gentlemen to challenge my creditability to speak on behalf of the senior is almost laughable. The seniors asked me to express their concerns because I have been their friend for over 20 years, and as a friend I expressed their concerns regarding their removal from their home. I concluded my remarks by saying the present center was starting to show signs of wear. The seniors list to correct these problems was small. They asked that the present flat roof be redesigned so that it didn’t leak. The center needed to have its electric rewired to accommodate removal of the air conditioning from the roof for placement on the ground. The center’s kitchen needed to be enlarged not only for our seniors but to accommodate the county’s nutrition program.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page