Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 17, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Giving our seniors a sense of place in Lewiston

Niagara Gazette — What is a sense of place? A sense of place is a state of mind. A sense of place is described as a space or place in which we are comfortable. A sense of place is that physical or psychological environment that is pleasant, safe, socially comfortable and enjoyable. In essence the elements that make up a sense of place become our safe haven.

For Lewiston’s seniors their safe haven is their center. No one will argue where this center sits is peaceful, quiet and beautiful, and it’s for those reasons this site was chosen, and why our seniors wish to stay. But, some are proposing they leave this peaceful, comfortable haven for something else and to this our seniors respond, thank you, but we’d rather stay where we are.

At a recent meeting regarding the proposed Lewiston Recreation and Senior Center, I expressed the thoughts and wishes of many seniors who have contacted me about their displeasure of having to leave their present center.

While I was speaking a Lewiston Town Board member interrupted me in an attempt to challenge my creditability with regard to my speaking on behalf of Lewiston’s seniors. Obviously this gentleman has either been out of town for the last 20-plus years or in need of some memory medicine. My involvement with the seniors started 25 years ago delivering Meals on Wheels, continued as a member of and chairman of Lewiston’s Senior Advisory Board and concluded as a town board liaison to the Senior Department.

As a member of the Senior Advisory Board we recommended the purchase of the center and advocated for the senior housing complex located on Upper Mountain Road. For many years I was a member of both the Lewiston and Sanborn seniors, for this gentlemen to challenge my creditability to speak on behalf of the senior is almost laughable. The seniors asked me to express their concerns because I have been their friend for over 20 years, and as a friend I expressed their concerns regarding their removal from their home. I concluded my remarks by saying the present center was starting to show signs of wear. The seniors list to correct these problems was small. They asked that the present flat roof be redesigned so that it didn’t leak. The center needed to have its electric rewired to accommodate removal of the air conditioning from the roof for placement on the ground. The center’s kitchen needed to be enlarged not only for our seniors but to accommodate the county’s nutrition program.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page