Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 14, 2013

HAMILTON: Love our children 'Moore' than hate for NRA

Niagara Gazette — Self-proclaimed, extreme left wing, loud mouthed Michael Moore want the First Amendment press to print up-close, graphic photographs taken of the victims of the Sandy Hook Massacre. According to reports, he believes that the printing of such would cause such public clamor that it would put an end to the National Rifle Association, who broadly represents Second Amendment proponents.

Given that most of the victims at Sandy Hook were children, it is not a great leap to see that Moore obviously thinks less of both the children’s demise and how the parents might feel about seeing their broken loved ones spattered all over the news, and more about his hatred of the NRA.

Once a fellow was asked about when he thought that the Arab-Israeli Mid-East situation would be solved, and he said, “When they love their children more than the hate their enemies.”

That man’s words apply to so many situations, and not just the Arabs and Israelis.

But Moore, and others may never come to that realization; after all, he has made millions on getting one side to hate the other — so then, why not use children, that are not his, as photographic weapons?

The issue in this nation is not gun control, as demonstrated by the localities that have the strictest gun control are also the localities that have the most gun-related murders. The communities that genuinely have the most love for each other are also the communities that have the lowest of any kinds of crime.

The aforementioned is affirmed by those who want the United States to be more like their misperception of the Kumbayah countries of Europe, a platitude that by the very nature of what the United States is cannot happen — unless.

The population of Europe (not counting Russia and its recently severed Union of Soviet Socialist states) is roughly twice that of the United States, and its legendary border wars have largely been premised upon the various ethnicities of its forty-four or so nations. The Balkan Wars of the former Yugoslavia demonstrated such, whereas the former republics convalesced back to their ethnic boundaries, despite the relative prosperity that they were having when operating as one. Because each ethnic nation had a level of distrust of the other, they manifested their hatred externally; therefore, they were better able to love each other internally as to not go around shooting each other.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Assessing Islander's accidental fame When Islander go ashore, we know how to behave, most of us. Now Wikipedia can add one Kara Dudley to its roster of notable Islanders, definitively a woman of her times.

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page