Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 13, 2013

Cuomo's new title is 'Hamlet on the Shale'

Niagara Gazette — Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo must have winced Wednesday when he glanced at the New York Times article that stated he was becoming 'Hamlet on the Shale.'

It was an obvious reference to Shakespeare's character known for being overly analytical and indecisive. In this case, it's all about Cuomo's apparent reluctance to push the agenda on the thorny issue of hydraulic fracturing, the drilling system to extract natural gas from rock formations like the Marcellus Shale that extends from the Appalachians to the Southern Tier of New York. The controversial process has been under review for the past couple of years — even before Cuomo was sworn into office — so the disappointment and frustration over the delay is somewhat understandable. 

In an effort to explain the additional delay, state Health Commissioner Dr. Nirav R. Shah said his agency was still reviewing the potential effects on health from the drilling. Since that report is unlikely to be completed by the deadline this month, it may be necessary to start the overall regulatory process again. That  would mean another 45-day comment period.

Initially, the governor had cited hydraulic fracturing as a potential factor for creating jobs and promoting economic development. 

An editorial in the New York Post on Wednesday noted the coincidence of Cuomo's decision to delay action on the fracking issue and the same-day ad in the DesMoines Register warning him not to approve such drilling in New York. The Register is published in Iowa, the traditional launching pad for the presidential primaries. The Post  editors also asked if there was any better evidence that Cuomo's interests in fracking lie not in what it might mean for New York's depressed economy but what it could mean for his chances in the 2016 presidential race.

Despite the latest delay, Joseph Martens, commissioner of the state Department of Environmental Conservation, said New York could still decide to grant gas-drilling permits relatively quickly if the Health Department study puts to rest concerns about harmful effects to the water supply or other risks to the environment.  

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page