Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 6, 2013

GLYNN: Cuomo casino idea revives upstate-downstate flap

Niagara Gazette — It's not exactly the kind of image that Gov. Andrew Cuomo would like to convey to voters but his recent plan to help the hard-hit upstate regions could project New York state as a house divided. 

The point is, if the state chief executive can't show leadership in his own backyard, voters in other states some day may be reluctant to entrust him to the Oval Office in the White House. 

Take, for example, the Cuomo strategy to build at least three new casinos upstate at the same time the Resorts World Casino prepares a vigorous strategy to attract tourists to its Queen's location at the Aqueduct Raceway. 

Based on the upstate vs downstate plans, the emerging turf battle sends another reminder of the endless friction in the Empire State. Obviously, the lawmakers representing metropolitan New York City have the edge — strength in numbers and clout — over communities like Buffalo, Niagara Falls and Rochester. It's a safe bet that lawmakers and not the state chief executive will hold sway on this issue.

Yet another grandiose scheme, unveiled in a New York Post article Tuesday, features a massive casino and hotel project which the baseball Mets' owners reportedly want to build adjacent to their Citi Field stadium in the Queens. For the Mets, as one of their franchise officers noted, the investment would be an opportunity to recover part of the $162 million loss the Major League team suffered from the Bernie Madff Ponzi scandal. (Madoff, 71, a stockbroker who defrauded thousands of clients of billions of dollars, is serving a 150-year prison term.)

What's troublesome about this latest round of casinos — wherever they might end up — is the stark reality that New York State has apparently run out of ideas to create jobs, to improve the quality of life in scores of communities, and to make a concerted effort to lure high-tech business and industry. Instead, the emphasis it seems is on building gambling halls — none to match the splendor and appeal of Las Vegas — to suck the money out of one city or town into another. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page