Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 6, 2013

GLYNN: Cuomo casino idea revives upstate-downstate flap

Niagara Gazette — It's not exactly the kind of image that Gov. Andrew Cuomo would like to convey to voters but his recent plan to help the hard-hit upstate regions could project New York state as a house divided. 

The point is, if the state chief executive can't show leadership in his own backyard, voters in other states some day may be reluctant to entrust him to the Oval Office in the White House. 

Take, for example, the Cuomo strategy to build at least three new casinos upstate at the same time the Resorts World Casino prepares a vigorous strategy to attract tourists to its Queen's location at the Aqueduct Raceway. 

Based on the upstate vs downstate plans, the emerging turf battle sends another reminder of the endless friction in the Empire State. Obviously, the lawmakers representing metropolitan New York City have the edge — strength in numbers and clout — over communities like Buffalo, Niagara Falls and Rochester. It's a safe bet that lawmakers and not the state chief executive will hold sway on this issue.

Yet another grandiose scheme, unveiled in a New York Post article Tuesday, features a massive casino and hotel project which the baseball Mets' owners reportedly want to build adjacent to their Citi Field stadium in the Queens. For the Mets, as one of their franchise officers noted, the investment would be an opportunity to recover part of the $162 million loss the Major League team suffered from the Bernie Madff Ponzi scandal. (Madoff, 71, a stockbroker who defrauded thousands of clients of billions of dollars, is serving a 150-year prison term.)

What's troublesome about this latest round of casinos — wherever they might end up — is the stark reality that New York State has apparently run out of ideas to create jobs, to improve the quality of life in scores of communities, and to make a concerted effort to lure high-tech business and industry. Instead, the emphasis it seems is on building gambling halls — none to match the splendor and appeal of Las Vegas — to suck the money out of one city or town into another. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Obama Tours Gyeongbok Palace Swimmer Michael Phelps Back in Competition Raw: Obama Lays Korean War Memorial Wreath Obama Leads Naturalization Ceremony in Seoul Calif. School Bus Crash Hurts Driver, 11 Kids Country Club for Exotic Cars Little Science Behind 'Pollen Vortex' Prediction US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page