Niagara Gazette

Opinion

January 8, 2013

GUEST VIEW: Local leaders have failed the Falls again

Niagara Gazette — As Americans became increasingly frustrated with the congressional negotiations that had pushed our economy ever so close to a plunge over the so-called “fiscal cliff,” those of us living in Niagara Falls could only reflect on how often we have witnessed this type of political theater played out both literally and figuratively in our own community.

At the center of such performances are those lawmakers who have been elected and re-elected expressing the belief that they possess the magic formula for economic revitalization. In reality, it is their addiction to short-term fixes that only worsens the economic problems facing the nation as well as Niagara Falls.

Ten years ago, our state and local elected officials told us that the revenues from Seneca Niagara Casino would become the magic formula curing the financial problems plaguing our community. Now we know this budgetary dependency on casino revenues has only led to a postponement of the structural reforms that are necessary to rebuild the local economy.

What we all should realize is that we have continued to support and elect lawmakers who pander to the American preference for lower taxes and increased government services. Just like drunks begging their favorite bartender for just one more drink, our public officials believed that these annual shots of casino revenues would provide the economic stimulus Niagara Falls had desperately needed. Now that the drunk has been cut off from this magic elixir, he continues to search for just one more quick fix to all of his problems.

So what have the lawmakers at city hall given us for fiscal year 2013? Actually, it is nothing more than the same political sleight of hand we’ve been accepting since we began anticipating that first taste of casino revenues 10 years ago. Our political leaders have offered us another round of our favorite cocktail of no tax increases with a sustained level of basic city services. What they haven’t offered us is their willingness to tackle the underlying weaknesses that have produced the economic stagnation we’ve come to take for granted in Niagara Falls.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Chronicling crime on the 'Island' Why is Rick Pfeiffer never around when you need him? The guy whose cubicle we shared during the Koop-Jasen-Rice era at Channel 4 now carefully chronicles criminals for the Gazette, notably those a few flakes short of Raisin Bran, but his crime wave is a mere ripple compared to ours.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The mirrors of my grandfather's fingernails What we do or don't do will have a greater impact upon our grandchildren's futures than what you might think.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page