Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 29, 2012

GLYNN: Looking back on the 2012 predictions

Niagara Gazette — EDITOR’S NOTE: Don's been off a few days so here's a look at his predictions for 2012 published on Jan. 2 — he called his margin of error 98.7 percent but he did call the presidential election!

JAN. 1: In his inaugural address, Mayor Paul Dyster calls for a renewed spirit of cooperation for the city to move forward in 2012. Council tables matter for further discussion.

JAN. 10: City parks department swamped with calls from senior citizens demanding to know when Hyde Park Golf Course will reopen.

JAN. 14: State Sen. George D. Maziarz, R-Newfane, honored for his service at Niagara Falls Memorial Medical Center Premiere. One dinner guest said: “Imagine what he’d do if he represented this area?”

FEB. 5: Tightrope walker Nik Wallenda pleads his case to the Supreme Court of Canada.

FEB. 12: Local banks start charging $5 for making deposits or withdrawals. Spokesman says it should reduce customer wait times.

MARCH 6: Phillipe Petit, the highwire artist who once strolled between the twin 110-story towers of the World Trade Center, seeks permission to walk across the Niagara Gorge.

MARCH 21: Jay Cochrane, a tightrope walker who conquered death-defying challenges around the globe, proposes to carry Council Chairman Sam Fruscione across the Niagara Gorge on his back.

APRIL 6: Lewiston Supervisor Steven L. Reiter unveils plans for 15-story, five-star hotel in Joseph Davis State Park, which the state is leasing to the town.

APRIL 14: State parks officials upset that Reiter would proceed with hotel project without consulting Albany.

APRIL 26: In an effort to cut costs, the U.S. Postal Services announces major changes : All mail in Lewiston, Porter, Wilson and Town of Niagara will now be processed in Watertown.

MAY 2: Due to sharp increase in daily volume, the Stella Niagara Post Office will extend its hours of service and expand staff to 10.

MAY 23: County legislator Clyde L. Burmaster says plans for cross-river ferry service still alive. Niagara River Greenway money eyed as major funding source.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page