Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 29, 2012

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Rhyming through the year 2012

Niagara Gazette — As now we bid farewell to ‘12,

Into such sadness do we delve

  

A weeping nation wond’ring what

Caused horror in Connecticut

  

Had not yet even cleared the last

Of mis’ry wrought by Sandy’s blast

  

Farewell to our beloved “Bro,”

Showed thousands how to do a show

   

Cat Casey left midst many tears:

Our furry playmate, 18 years

   

Doctor, heading home from drinking,

Hit girl; said he’d not an inkling

   

Retribution widely prayed for;

He got justice that he paid for.

   

Much debating concerned whether

Tightrope guy would wear a tether

  

Safely trussed, did Nik Wallenda

Turn Falls into hacienda

   

The nation voted for Barack,

Though GOP said “that’s a crock.”

  

Paetreus touched off scandal storm

For conduct out of uniform

  

In skirmish with biographor,

He redefined “the fog of war.”

  

Sabres boosters feel depleted;

Solace: team is undefeated

   

As for Bills, we cry “no more”

While other teams roll up the score

  

Like Mayans, Mets see end of days

While Bisons hook up with the Jays

   

Viking baseball gathered glory,

Reached States; only part of story

  

In playoff game, coach defined pride;

Used substitute whose Dad just died

  

Girls basketball won Section VI,

And almost foiled Rochester’s tricks.

Isle events were much less tragic,

Mural appeared, as if by magic

  

‘though project was conceived in haste,

It demonstrated our great Taste

   

Tim Horton’s, goodness, now we’ve two!

And Riverstone resurfaced, too.

   

Thruway showed its disdain of us,

Shutting down our walk-in office

   

The Queen enjoyed her Jubilee;

But others won’t the New Year see.

   

Mrs. Pinkow, we’ll be missing;

Richard Dawson, king of kissing;

   

Andrew Breitbart, blogging writer;

Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheiter;

   

Andy Griffith, pope of rural;

Thom Kincade, sketched light in mural

   

Heav’nly hosts now taking dibs

On Dave Brubeck and “Beejay” Gibbs

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page