Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 29, 2012

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Rhyming through the year 2012

Niagara Gazette — As now we bid farewell to ‘12,

Into such sadness do we delve

  

A weeping nation wond’ring what

Caused horror in Connecticut

  

Had not yet even cleared the last

Of mis’ry wrought by Sandy’s blast

  

Farewell to our beloved “Bro,”

Showed thousands how to do a show

   

Cat Casey left midst many tears:

Our furry playmate, 18 years

   

Doctor, heading home from drinking,

Hit girl; said he’d not an inkling

   

Retribution widely prayed for;

He got justice that he paid for.

   

Much debating concerned whether

Tightrope guy would wear a tether

  

Safely trussed, did Nik Wallenda

Turn Falls into hacienda

   

The nation voted for Barack,

Though GOP said “that’s a crock.”

  

Paetreus touched off scandal storm

For conduct out of uniform

  

In skirmish with biographor,

He redefined “the fog of war.”

  

Sabres boosters feel depleted;

Solace: team is undefeated

   

As for Bills, we cry “no more”

While other teams roll up the score

  

Like Mayans, Mets see end of days

While Bisons hook up with the Jays

   

Viking baseball gathered glory,

Reached States; only part of story

  

In playoff game, coach defined pride;

Used substitute whose Dad just died

  

Girls basketball won Section VI,

And almost foiled Rochester’s tricks.

Isle events were much less tragic,

Mural appeared, as if by magic

  

‘though project was conceived in haste,

It demonstrated our great Taste

   

Tim Horton’s, goodness, now we’ve two!

And Riverstone resurfaced, too.

   

Thruway showed its disdain of us,

Shutting down our walk-in office

   

The Queen enjoyed her Jubilee;

But others won’t the New Year see.

   

Mrs. Pinkow, we’ll be missing;

Richard Dawson, king of kissing;

   

Andrew Breitbart, blogging writer;

Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheiter;

   

Andy Griffith, pope of rural;

Thom Kincade, sketched light in mural

   

Heav’nly hosts now taking dibs

On Dave Brubeck and “Beejay” Gibbs

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Border Patrol chief examines deadly acts A former Buffalo police chief now has the formidable task of reviewing cases where border agents have used deadly force.

    July 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Nostalgia for nostalgia: Where will it end? Not only has there been a huge nostalgia boom in America, but we're now getting to the point where there's much nostalgia for nostalgia! Maybe signifying that nostalgia will wear itself out, or, as in the old adage, that it ain't what it used to be?

    July 20, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Barracks site solved -- let's get something else moving The New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation heard the community loud and clear this time.

    July 20, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page