Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 29, 2012

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Rhyming through the year 2012

Niagara Gazette — As now we bid farewell to ‘12,

Into such sadness do we delve

  

A weeping nation wond’ring what

Caused horror in Connecticut

  

Had not yet even cleared the last

Of mis’ry wrought by Sandy’s blast

  

Farewell to our beloved “Bro,”

Showed thousands how to do a show

   

Cat Casey left midst many tears:

Our furry playmate, 18 years

   

Doctor, heading home from drinking,

Hit girl; said he’d not an inkling

   

Retribution widely prayed for;

He got justice that he paid for.

   

Much debating concerned whether

Tightrope guy would wear a tether

  

Safely trussed, did Nik Wallenda

Turn Falls into hacienda

   

The nation voted for Barack,

Though GOP said “that’s a crock.”

  

Paetreus touched off scandal storm

For conduct out of uniform

  

In skirmish with biographor,

He redefined “the fog of war.”

  

Sabres boosters feel depleted;

Solace: team is undefeated

   

As for Bills, we cry “no more”

While other teams roll up the score

  

Like Mayans, Mets see end of days

While Bisons hook up with the Jays

   

Viking baseball gathered glory,

Reached States; only part of story

  

In playoff game, coach defined pride;

Used substitute whose Dad just died

  

Girls basketball won Section VI,

And almost foiled Rochester’s tricks.

Isle events were much less tragic,

Mural appeared, as if by magic

  

‘though project was conceived in haste,

It demonstrated our great Taste

   

Tim Horton’s, goodness, now we’ve two!

And Riverstone resurfaced, too.

   

Thruway showed its disdain of us,

Shutting down our walk-in office

   

The Queen enjoyed her Jubilee;

But others won’t the New Year see.

   

Mrs. Pinkow, we’ll be missing;

Richard Dawson, king of kissing;

   

Andrew Breitbart, blogging writer;

Ray Bradbury, Fahrenheiter;

   

Andy Griffith, pope of rural;

Thom Kincade, sketched light in mural

   

Heav’nly hosts now taking dibs

On Dave Brubeck and “Beejay” Gibbs

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page