Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 22, 2012

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: A fine day at the kettle

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Jinglers — The season brought us 250 new friends last Friday at Tops.

This was the second year we’ve done our little bit for the Salvation Army and its tirelessly genial Major Celestin Nkounkou.

Last year folks dropped more than $300, a record, he said, into our Red Kettle at the north entrance to our only big grocery store. This year, not quite so much, we suspect, but it was busy, and like spending the whole day amidst Spirits of Christmas Past.

Doug, a compulsive score-keeper, tallies the donors (but not their contributions). He counted 250, a very consistent 32 per hour, except for noonish, when it dropped off to 24, and 3 o’clockish, when it soared to 51. At times, we actually had a line.

One actually apologized for putting in a $5, said “it’s the smallest I have.” A youngster about seven ran all the way across the lobby, twisting out of his Mom’s hand, to drop in a coin.

Here comes Phyllis, widow of our former minister and golf partner Jim, as good a man as God ever gave us; here comes an umpire who once threw Doug out of a game and recalls him as “the whirling dervish of the softball league”; Polly’s ceramics colleagues recalling the good old glaze; our some-time seamstress who has endured such grief; a woman who describes Doug’s elf hat as “ridiculous,” another who greets him as “Morrie” and a pretty woman in a kerchief who presents us a tract of her own faith.

“I can’t believe I’m wearing my slippers,” one woman admitted. Shucks, Doug’s been there in his pajamas. Grocery Store Confessions.

Attorney Bob comes by with his boy. A dozen years ago their cats moved in with us. Coach Dean, arm in a sling, replaying downs and lost fly balls. Olive, bird-watcher deluxe. Bonnie, seatmate at Studio Arena. Our life in review. What a day. We supped silently at Theodore’s, just looking at each other. We wondered if adjacent diners thought we were cross with each other. We were just too tired to talk.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page