Niagara Gazette

Opinion

December 22, 2012

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: A fine day at the kettle

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Jinglers — The season brought us 250 new friends last Friday at Tops.

This was the second year we’ve done our little bit for the Salvation Army and its tirelessly genial Major Celestin Nkounkou.

Last year folks dropped more than $300, a record, he said, into our Red Kettle at the north entrance to our only big grocery store. This year, not quite so much, we suspect, but it was busy, and like spending the whole day amidst Spirits of Christmas Past.

Doug, a compulsive score-keeper, tallies the donors (but not their contributions). He counted 250, a very consistent 32 per hour, except for noonish, when it dropped off to 24, and 3 o’clockish, when it soared to 51. At times, we actually had a line.

One actually apologized for putting in a $5, said “it’s the smallest I have.” A youngster about seven ran all the way across the lobby, twisting out of his Mom’s hand, to drop in a coin.

Here comes Phyllis, widow of our former minister and golf partner Jim, as good a man as God ever gave us; here comes an umpire who once threw Doug out of a game and recalls him as “the whirling dervish of the softball league”; Polly’s ceramics colleagues recalling the good old glaze; our some-time seamstress who has endured such grief; a woman who describes Doug’s elf hat as “ridiculous,” another who greets him as “Morrie” and a pretty woman in a kerchief who presents us a tract of her own faith.

“I can’t believe I’m wearing my slippers,” one woman admitted. Shucks, Doug’s been there in his pajamas. Grocery Store Confessions.

Attorney Bob comes by with his boy. A dozen years ago their cats moved in with us. Coach Dean, arm in a sling, replaying downs and lost fly balls. Olive, bird-watcher deluxe. Bonnie, seatmate at Studio Arena. Our life in review. What a day. We supped silently at Theodore’s, just looking at each other. We wondered if adjacent diners thought we were cross with each other. We were just too tired to talk.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page