Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 3, 2013

JACKIE DAVIS: Recognizing the lives of extraordinary people

Niagara Gazette — This week, as I reflected on the close of Black History Month, I was reminded that Feb. 27 was the birthday of legendary African American contralto, Marian Anderson. She was born in 1897, and had a celebrated international career from 1925-1965. 

She was the first African American to ever perform with the Metropolitan Opera, and was instrumental in advancing the cause for racial equality in the United States during the 20th Century. This bit of Black History is especially significant to me, because I have the honor of portraying her this month, in a suite about “first lady” accomplishments, with one of Western New York’s repertory theater companies.

In 1939, when Marian Anderson was denied a performance in Constitution Hall by the Daughters of the American Revolution, First Lady Eleanor and President Franklin Roosevelt arranged for her to perform on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial. Over 75,000 people gathered to hear this classical singer, and millions listened by radio.

Ms. Anderson was originally refused admission into music school because of her race, but she did not let racism stop her dream. She studied with a number of vocal instructors, and toured all over Europe, where she did not experience the racism she had in America.

She once said, “When you stop having dreams and ideals — well, you might as well stop altogether.” She was actively involved in the civil rights movement, served as a good will ambassador, and received numerous honors and awards including a Lifetime Achievement Grammy Award before her death in 1993. 

None of these things would have been accomplished without her faith, tenacity, strength and determination.

Marian Anderson has a special place in our family history, because she and my grandmother, Maudelina Johnson, were dear friends, who at one time studied with the same voice teacher. Grandmother would take her voice students and her youth choir members to Ms. Anderson’s concerts. They always had the opportunity to speak with the extraordinary singer after her performances. Some of Grandmother’s voice students went on to become singers with the Metropolitan Opera because of the ground breaking accomplishments of Ms. Anderson.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

  • SINGER: Locating the next Shaq or Bird? With hallowed college hoops programs thriving around here, plus March NCAA games held in Buffalo (featuring champ-to-be UConn, upstart Dayton and a winnowed 'Cuse), will some new Shaq or Bird be located?

    April 13, 2014

  • Rick Pfeiffer COPS NOTEBOOK: Road rage and turkey shooting

    It would be fair to say Ryan Jackson, of Youngstown, has had a difficult couple of weeks.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Obama Hopeful on Ukraine, Will Watch Russians Flamingo Frenzy Ahead of Zoo Construction Crew Criticized Over Handling of Ferry Disaster Agreement Reached to Calm Ukraine Tensions Raw: Pope Francis Performs Pre-easter Ritual Raw: Bulgarian Monastery Dyes 5000 Easter Eggs Diplomats Reach Deal to Ease Tensions in Ukraine U.S. Sending Nonlethal Aid to Ukraine Military Holder: Americans Stand With KC Mourners Obama Greets Wounded Warriors Malaysia Plane: Ocean Floor Images 'Very Clear' Sparks Fly With Derulo and Jordin on New Album Franco Leads Star-studded Broadway Cast Raw: Two Lucky Kids Get Ride in Popemobile Boston Bombing Survivors One Year Later Sister of Slain MIT Officer Reflects on Bombing
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page