Niagara Gazette

Opinion

March 2, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Oscars not an awarding experience

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Movie Buffs — We hadn’t visited Planet Oscar since the year its inhabitants awarded “American Beauty” their best-of-show. If Oscarites cherished something that vile, we wanted no part of their world.

Having no movie house over here, we’ll occasionally visit the Mainland for the likes of “Blame It on Winn-Dixie” or, in 2012, “Life of Pi” at the right price at the Four Seasons or, recently, “Quartet” out in Clarence. For the most part, though, we sigh at most movie ads: “Looks like we’ll miss that one.”

But when our grandson’s Cub Scout Arrow of Light ceremony fell on the same weekend as Planet Oscar’s fly-by, and the Costly Daughter proposed a mini-party, we surrendered. Some observations:

• For professional entertainers, they sure have “dull” down to a science. Grumpy old William Shatner’s futuristic revelations to “host” Seth McFarlane seemed like tedium at the time, but the worst was yet to come ...

• Only on planet Oscar would they deem a song about insufficiently clad women uplifting, then unveil it well before bedtime, prompting the Costly Daughter to predict that the recent Cub Scout honoree would soon be Googling a four-letter palindrome. (From elsewhere in the room: “Surely he knows.”)

• How can any roll call of stars who died in the past year not include Andy Griffith? While Mayberry existed almost solely on TV, the sheriff had a fine film career including the caustic downer “A Face in the Crowd,” just the ticket for today’s Planet Oscar mindsets.

• While it seemed an achievement to have the orchestra orbit several blocks away, this no doubt caused the dreadful sound balance in which many singers could barely be heard over the music. But, with her own orchestra, neither could Adele.

• On the other hand (no pun intended) Shirley Bassey’s “Goldfinger” at 76 redefines “Golden Ager,” although we don’t recall her British Isle intonation when first we heard it in 1964.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page