Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 27, 2013

GLYNN: Family ties traced to train crash in the 1890s

Niagara Gazette — Descendants of two Niagara area families — the Lynches and Butterys — encountered an unexpected reunion nearly 120 years after a railroad accident one day that thrust their ancestors into the news.

Jim Lynch, whose family roots run deep in this city's North End, recalls that day in 2011 when he was doing research at the Lockport History Center. While there, he happened to meet Lewis Buttery, another local history buff, and his sister, Carol. Lynch explained that he was searching for articles about his great-grandmother, Anna Piper Lynch and her children who were hurt in a train accident  in 1894. 

As Lynch talked about the incident, Buttery expressed intense interest in all the details. "Believe it or not, that was my great- uncle (Earl Buttery) operating the train along the gorge that day, when the accident happened," Buttery said. Quickly they started comparing mental notes, sharing family backgrounds. They struck up a friendship that continues to this day.

Lynch, now a Ransomville resident, has dedicated countless hours researching his ancestors. He also regularly delves into microfilm, newspaper articles and cemetery records, among other sources to piece together the family story. His brother, Brian Lynch, has focused on ancestry.com, digging up information on relatives dating back to the year 700.

Anna P. Lynch, 40, and her four children were riding on a branch of the New York Central & Hudson Railroad after attending her brother's wedding in Lewiston. The train had left the village below the Escarpment at 1:25 p.m. and was due at the Tenth Street Station in Niagara Falls at 1:45 p.m. According to witnesses, the train was passing opposite a stone quarry just north of Niagara University — the present site of the Robert Moses Niagara Project — when a car loaded with stone came hurtling down the incline railway of the plant site and smashed into the rear end of the observation car next to the engine.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Bon Jovi Helps Open Low-income Housing in Philly Pipeline Opponents Protest on National Mall Hagel Gets Preview of New High-tech Projects S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart New Country Music Hall of Fame Inductees Named 'Piles' of Bodies in South Sudan Slaughter New Yorkers Celebrate Cherry Blossom Blooms SCOTUS Hears Tv-over-Internet Case Justice Dept. Broadening Criteria for Clemency Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers 'Miss Meadows' Takes Holmes Back to Her Roots Biden: Russia Must Stop Talking, Start Acting David Moyes Out As Manchester United Manager Raw: Leopard Bites Man in India Iowa College Finds Beauty in Bulldogs High Court to Hear Dispute of TV Over Internet Stowaway Teen Forces Review of Airport Security
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page