Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 25, 2013

HIGGS: Community questions and answers

Niagara Gazette — This will be the last column on the annual Block Club Council Retreat. These past weeks are an example of the education we receive from our elected and appointed public officials who feel it is worth their time and effort to attend our event each year to update our block club members and other interested citizens.

Questions and answers follow:

“Has the state ever considered a ‘three strikes and you’re out’ rule?”

District Attorney Michael Violante responded “There is one — if you are a third-time felon, it is appropriate for the DA to request a hearing and sentence as persistence felon.”

“Tremendous number of sex offenders in 14303, why? During the past six months, 15 new sex offenders in area.”

Many jumped in to comment on this issue. Mayor Paul Dyster stated on the sad story that our community generates sex offenders. They have to live some place, unless they are incarcerated. He noted as mayor he cannot influence but those that write laws can.

Code Enforcement Director Dennis Virtuoso added one of the city ordinances states they cannot live within 1,500 feet of places where children congregate; the state law is 1,000 feet. Niagara County Legislature recently passed resolution for state to change to correspond to the city’s 1,500 feet requirement. The city recently did a comprehensive study and found that there are really very few areas sex offenders can live without violating these boundaries. The responsibility lies with Parole and Social Services to keep them within the required number of feet which is difficult in Niagara Falls, a city of parks, playgrounds, day care centers, Sunday schools etc. Violante stated he would be happy to co-author a letter to Director of Parole in Albany to determine why we are getting people that never lived here. Police Superintendent Bryan DalPorto is also working on the issue.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: Gothic architecture -- a fitting structure for church services Before we get involved in the new church building, we need to know what happened to the former structure on First Street which was utilized for St. Peter's Church services for 30 years until 1880 when the present stone church was ready for use.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: NTCC's 'regional approach' aids all local tourism

    April 14, 2014

  • GLYNN: Local interest mounts in India's big election A number of people whose families have emigrated from India to the U.S. -- a solid sector of the hotel and restaurant business in the Niagara area -- are expected to hear a message today directly from the homeland.

    April 13, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page