Niagara Gazette

Opinion

February 24, 2013

VINCENT DAVIS: What’s in a name? Listen to this ...

Niagara Gazette — I’m 98 percent sure that history will remember Feb. 22, 2013, as the day every good dance craze name was taken.

With the advent of the newest YouTube video trend, the Harlem Shake, we have officially run out of new names for the way we move our arms, legs and torsos to music. In the month of February “The Harlem Shake” became a beloved dance sensation for the third time since 1981. “But wait, isn’t the Harlem Shake only a few weeks old?” you’re surely asking, and yes you are correct … kind of.

For those of you not in the know, “Harlem Shake” videos are about 30 seconds in length and consist of one person dancing by himself, usually wearing a helmet while “Harlem Shake,” a song by dance music artist Baauer plays. A few seconds in when the bass ‘drops’ the video cuts to the helmeted dancer in the same location, but now surrounded by other revelers dancing as hard as they can for about 20 seconds.

The first “Harlem Shake” video was uploaded Jan. 30 and over the course of the next two weeks more than 4,000 “Shake” videos were posted and had garnered more than 44 million views. The song shot to number one on iTunes, and Billboard charts and Baauer sold out multiple shows.

I don’t hate YouTube or dance crazes, but I worry for our future generations; someone trying to write a report on great dance crazes from the past will pull up Wikipedia on their holo-iPhone or whatever we’re using in the future and find themselves confronted with a number of different Harlem Shakes, leading to an unfocused report and ultimately a mediocre grade. Do you even care about your great great great grandchild’s education?

For those of you in the know, “The Harlem Shake” is also a dance popularized in the early 2000s by rappers like P.Diddy (formerly “Puff Daddy”, currently just “Diddy”), Jadakiss and others. For those even more in the know it’s a dance invented in 1981 by a Harlem resident named “Al B.”

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Don't go soft on teenage criminals New York is one of two states â€" North Carolina being the other â€" that automatically prosecute 16- and 17-year-olds as adults in misdemeanor and felony cases. Other states do so only on a conditional basis at the whim of the presiding judge.

    April 14, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Ceremony Marks 19th Anniversary of OKC Bombing Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria Raw: Massive 7.2 Earthquake Rocks Mexico Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page