Niagara Gazette

Opinion

November 4, 2012

UNITED WAY: The gift of help can last throughout the year

Niagara Gazette — It’s getting close to that time of year again. How could the months have flown by so quickly from last year’s celebrations? Can it really be possible that the big moment of 2012 is within sight? There is still so much to do.

I’m sure many people across Niagara County are thinking this way about the upcoming holiday season. After all, this time of year tends to turn our lives into somewhat of a controlled whirlwind of activity, energy, generosity and unmistakable spirit. While it can be hectic, the overall result for most families is joy – joy in sharing what we have with loved ones and friends, joy in taking time to give thanks for the blessings we have in our lives, joy in spending time with those we love and in gearing up for new and exciting challenges in the year to come.

At United Way of Greater Niagara, the whirlwind of activity at this time of year means working toward the completion of a successful Community Care Campaign.

There are many throughout our community who do not share in the joys of the holiday season. Their days are filled with challenges — physical, emotional, financial and social. The blessings that many of us take for granted are all too often out of their reach. From the brave veteran who feels lost to the children desperate for guidance, our community is filled with stories of hurt and hardship.

For those who need a place to turn, there is United Way and the indefatigable work of our member agencies. These organizations – our partners – have committed themselves to the mission of making Niagara County a stronger community and increasing our capacity to care for those who need our help.

During this season of giving and celebrating the human spirit, the Community Care Campaign represents a unique opportunity to make your generosity last all year, right here in your neighborhood. Each year, United Way programs and services benefit more than 80,000 people across Niagara County. But the needs and challenges keep growing and the number of people who need support continues to rise.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Tourism operators ready for new season Niagara area hospitality industry people will mark National Tourism Week, May 3 to May 11, with special events focusing on the assets that shape the Cataract City as a major destination.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Neither long ago, nor far away ... If you did not catch documentary filmmaker Ken Burns' latest masterpiece, "The Address" on PBS last night, it will be well worth your time to look for the re-run, or to find it online as soon as possible.

    April 16, 2014 1 Photo

  • Editorial: Let's go Buffalo! It could be a whole lot of sweet nothings being whispered in our collective ears, but talk about a Buffalo Bills stadium in Niagara Falls, has us chanting "Let's Go Buffalo." Already there are doubters all over town, who just don't want to get their hopes up. We're hearing people say they're reminded of the time those developers of the Mall of America flirted with the Falls when they were shopping for a location for their super mall. They eventually chose another city, Minneapolis, Minnesota.

    April 16, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Raw: Fire Engulfs Tower Block in China Ocean Drones Making Waves in Research World Breakfast Foods Are Getting Pricier Raw: Ferry Captain Received Medical Treatment Hundreds Gather for Denver Pot Rally on Easter Transcript Reveals Confusion in Ferry Evacuation Raw: More Than 100,000 Gather for Easter Sunday Raw: Greeks Celebrate Easter With "Rocket War" Police Question Captain, Crew on Ferry Disaster Raw: Orthodox Christians Observe Easter Rite Raw: Four French Journalists Freed From Syria
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page