Niagara Gazette

Opinion

October 4, 2012

GLYNN: GOP lawmakers counting on Cuomo

Niagara Gazette — It’s the season for schmoozing.

Time to cross the aisle and heap praise on a politician of another party. At the same time, any candidate running for re-election, especially a vulnerable one, needs to choose coattails wisely.

A prime example: Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo, a Democrat with a favorability rating of a record 70 percent. That’s the kind of guy it helps to be on the right side of, when you’re a candidate of another party stripe. 

Three area Republican lawmakers — Sen. George Maziarz, R- Newfane, Sen. Mark Grisanti, R-Buffalo, and Assemblyman John D. Ceretto, R-Lewiston — are obviously counting heavily on Cuomo’s popularity in their November races. 

It is clear they relish the chance to bask in the governor’s glory on Capitol Hill, citing a perceived clean-up of corruption, the end to a thoroughly dysfunctional Legislature, and the increased number of private sector jobs. Voters in the Empire State surely are a little more savvy than that. 

The new era of good feeling works both ways, to be sure. Cuomo can hardly afford to slight upstate lawmakers — regardless of party affiliation — who represent thousands of people hurting from the depressed economy. By helping re-elect them, Cuomo can expand his base for a future run as the state’s Chief Executive or to a higher office.  

Thus, the latest campaign commercial extolling Grisanti’s efforts in staunchly supporting the “UB 20-20” legislation, a long-term plan to encourage economic growth and create jobs in Western New York. As they say, that’s a no-brainer. Don’t expect to hear Grisanti though lauded for his crucial vote on same-sex marriage.  That’s still contentious on both sides of the aisle.

Maziarz probably never gave the time of day to either of the former Democratic governors, Eliot Spitzer or David Paterson, even before they became embroiled in scandals of their own making. The two governors simply weren’t the schmoozing type. In light of what happened, it’s easy to understand why.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page