Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 24, 2013

HIGGS: Trott Vocational lesson continues

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Roger Spurback attended Trott as a full-time student and served as correspondent. He wrote in 1970: “This year we discovered that Trott Vocational High School is becoming quite popular in this area. This is evidenced by the overflow of enrollment into vocational programs at Trott.” Roger studied the mandatory curriculum plus three hours of Welding Shop. Welding students competed in national competitions, submitting their projects for evaluation and judging. Since he lived on Linwood and 15th at the time, walking to school each day was not as far for him as some of the others. He found employment in the welding field and later joined the Marine Corps. The following year, a Gazette reporter Cecil Farrell stated that “Most students here sum up their reasons for attending the school in a few words “I’d rather have a job than a college degree.” By 1964, gender differences were no longer apparent as Sam Dexter was in the practical nursing program and Lori Porter was in auto mechanics. By 1977 Trott’s 65 industrial apprentices received journeyman papers, making this the largest graduating class in this field in its 50 year history. Carl Chapman was the first male to enroll in the cosmetology course in 1978.

I saw James Marasco at a Community Development meeting recently and afterward we talked a little about Trott. He attended the evening shop classes during 1973-74 while he was a full-time student at Niagara Falls High School where he studied the regular mandatory school curriculum. He also went two nights a week to the Electrical Shop under the tutelage of a Mr. Meyer and two nights a week in the carpenter Shop with Mr. Korsch. That did not leave much time for Facebook (I know it wasn’t around then — just generalizing) and hanging out, but he feels today it was time well spent as he has used the knowledge he gained many, many times over the years in his job capacity at Community Development and certainly in his own home maintenance. MaryAnn Colangelo, another staffer said her husband Greg and his brother David also attended Trott and are grateful for the learning experience they had, especially with household repairs. David has made maintenance a career with his employment at the Niagara Falls Housing Authority. Although Greg serves with the Niagara Falls Fire Department, MaryAnn sounded happy he was able to be Mr. Fix It around the house.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Wegmans call warns of bad fruit I was humming to myself the other day, getting ready for work on a lovely summer morning, when I decided to check my messages on the house phone. I hit the play button and heard a message from Wegmans warning me about some fruit that I had bought at their store. As quick as that, a message with the scary potential to change my life or the life of someone I love.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Ortt jumps on drive to repeal the SAFE Act It was a no-brainer for North Tonawanda Mayor Rob Ortt, a Republican candidate for the 62nd Senate District seat, to join the forces to repeal the state's SAFE Act.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Delaying refuse law really just makes situation worse It's obvious the rollout of the city's new refuse and recyclables collection program has caused confusion and consternation among some city residents and business owners.

    July 24, 2014

  • NIA Giannetti, Robert mug 072414 GUEST VIEW: Village of Lewiston parking issues related to Artpark need to be addressed On Artpark nights, the South Fourth Street area and many other parts of the Village of Lewiston are covered with pop-up parking lots on residential lawns that operate in spite of existing zoning laws prohibiting commercial activity.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Tourists attracted here by history, beauty, politics As my friend and colleague, writer Don Glynn has so artfully portrayed over the decades, "For many years after the dawn of aviation, U.S. presidents visiting Western New York started at the Niagara Falls Airport. The reason: The main runway here was longer than that of the Buffalo airport and could easily accommodate Air Force One, the presidential aircraft."

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Experience Center vital to tourism here From time immemorial, Niagara tourism leaders have expounded on the need for a first-class orientation center to showcase our assets for the millions of annual visitors here.

    July 23, 2014

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug CONFER: A constitutional convention is not the answer For the past few years it has been popular for folks of the right persuasion (Republicans and neoconservatives) to call for a constitutional convention ("Con-Con") in hopes of passing a balanced budget amendment (BBA.) A lot of people have jumped on that bandwagon; no doubt your email inbox or Facebook news feeds have shown that.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Scheer, Mark mug CITY DESK: Hobel will be missed

    Lost in all the hoopla surrounding last week’s announced retirement of state Sen. George Maziarz, R-Newfane, was the loss of another well-known figure in local government and politics.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: More pastors, a new church and more of everything Before I go further back in time, I want to just go back to last week where I took my own advice and spent a couple of hours at the Como, where I enjoyed one of their traditional "parade of bowls and plates of great salads, pasta and meat dishes" and listened to longtime friends of Tom Darro roast him with humor, accolades and best wishes. And best of all no one who came to the microphone mentioned garbage totes or carts. It was a welcome relief.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Time is of the essence in Maziarz probe Voters in the 62nd district and elsewhere across the state deserve the ability to make an educated decision about any candidates who take money from Maziarz while he still has the ability to dole it out.

    July 21, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Ariz. Inmate Dies 2 Hours After Execution Began Crash Kills Teen Pilot Seeking World Record LeBron James Sends Apology Treat to Neighbors Raw: Funeral for Man Who Died in NYPD Custody Migrants Back in Honduras After US Deports Israeli American Reservist Torn Over Return Raw: ISS Cargo Ship Launches in Kazakhstan Six Indicted in StubHub Hacking Scheme Former NTSB Official: FAA Ban 'prudent' EPA Gets Hip With Kardashian Tweet Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in the Netherlands Biden Decries Voting Restrictions in NAACP Talk Broncos Owner Steps Down Due to Alzheimer's US, UN Push Shuttle Diplomacy in Mideast Trump: DC Hotel Will Be Among World's Best Plane Crashes in Taiwan, Dozens Feared Dead Republicans Hold a Hearing on IRS Lost Emails Raw: Mourners Gather As MH17 Bodies Transported Robot Parking Valet Creates Stress-free Travel Raw: Fight Breaks Out in Ukraine Parliament
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page