Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 22, 2013

LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Setting up the summer schedule

Niagara Gazette — Dear Mainland Sun-Worshippers — Summer arrived over here Friday. We thought something was up when the furnace didn’t kick on in the morning. Last time that happened, the Bisons were affiliated with the Mets and the Bills were undefeated. It’s been brutal. The pool’s been running for a month and done nothing but bleach whirligigs.

Now, though, it appears the calendar and the centigrade have at last aligned. Here’s what we look forward to:

NEXT THURSDAY: Doug’s birthday, no saying the number, but when he was a boy, most popular records revolved at that speed.

JUNE 29 AND EVERY SATURDAY WELL INTO AUGUST: Movies in the park, starting about 9 in the Town Commons. Opening attraction: “Shreck Forever.” Bring your own chairs and some ogre repellant.

 JULY 3: We evacuate to join you at the Bisons annual Independence Eve concert.

• JULY 4: Town parade, preceded by our mini-marathon, the Dick Bessel race, just about one-tenth the size of the real thing. Patterned after a similar step-off in New England, it’s been with us more than 50 years. To get a good seat, probably better set a chair up now. The day ends with a bang, the Fantasy Island fireworks, and if you know where to perch over here, you can watch about seven displays simultaneously.

 JULY 6: Traditional opening day for our farmers’ market, only one we know at which they leave the goods covered overnight and accept payment on the honor system. We haven’t seen the signs yet, but we’re hopin’ they’re open.

JULY 17: Welcome, strangers. The Lions Club, which fed the multitude in April at the resort we used to call the Holiday Inn, now plows those funds into a day at the launch club for hundreds of youngsters not as fortunate as are we. They can always use a little help, so don’t be shy when the school buses parade down the Parkway.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page