Niagara Gazette

Opinion

June 16, 2013

SINGER: Two who are right for the job

Niagara Gazette — What a happy occurrence that on his second try to replace Hillary Clinton as Secretary of State, President Obama called on John Kerry for this demanding position in government. Sometimes you have to be lucky, and the U.S. certainly was in this choice.

During the brief time he has occupied the post, Mr. Kerry has radiated more authority with other powers, and done more to get off the dime via diplomacy, especially by opening out to the Russians concerning the quagmire of Syrian civil war, than Ms. Clinton did — or apparently, could do. Will authentic peace talks be possible for Syria? Everything conspires against them–Assad wanting badly to retain power, rebels (having lost so many family members and friends) wanting to keep the revolt going, certain Middle East powers throwing arms into the fray–and yet, Kerry seems to have created at least the possibility of a resolution to the conflict, however bad the odds.

Of course his predecessor, Ms. Clinton, is a very bright and accomplished person in her own right — no question. She globetrotted as extensively as any secretary of state ever did. But Kerry seems to be taken more seriously abroad, and seems emphatically less of a ditherer when it comes to foreign policy. (And by the way, I’m not referring obliquely to the Benghazi tragedy that occurred on Ms. Clinton’s watch. Nor am I referring to more trivial matters, such as her constantly changing hair styles, the taints she might still be daubed with stemming from her husband’s presidency, etc. I am simply referring to her record as secretary of state.)

Another John, Senator McCain, has also done some globetrotting of late, including into an ultra-dangerous Syria, in order to discuss with rebels there what might be done to alter a lethal, mudstuck dynamic. He seems more openly pro-rebel than Kerry, but both also seem aware of how interventions from abroad can induce a drop from frying pans into the proverbial fire, as has somewhat been the case in a now more Islamicized Egypt, where the Obama administration dived in perhaps too blithely. As they say: Don’t ask–besides Egypt, think of the Shah of Iran’s fall back in the ‘70s — you may get! I.e., something worse...

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: New York still delays decision on hydrofracking Many people across the state remain puzzled why the decision to allow hydrofracking has been delayed for so long.

    April 24, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: To every thing there is a season; this is OURS I'm not sure what The Byrds had in mind way back in 1965 when they popularized Pete Seeger's 1950s rendition of Ecclesiastes 3, but I am inclined to agree with novelist Thomas Wolfe who wrote: "[O]f all I have ever seen or learned, that book seems to me the noblest, the wisest, and the most powerful expression of man's life upon this earth."

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob Mug CONFER: Property rights and the Clean Water Act The United States of America was founded on the premise of natural rights, succinctly dictated as the unalienable rights of "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness."

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church, inside and out When I had a couple of questions I checked in with Whitney Mallam, a long-time church member who introduced me to Solon Myron Napoleon Whitney (commonly known as "The Major"), one of his relatives from the early days of this church's history. I was intrigued by some of Whit's comments and hope to learn more about him in the future.

    April 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Seneca Niagara Casino in billionaire category One of the Niagara area's biggest businesses is now part of the billionaire class.

    April 20, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Bridging the ideological gap Being both liberal and conservative, as currently designated, makes one perhaps sound wishy-washy; but one can't go down the line on everything.

    April 20, 2014

  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Home alone on the Island Yeah, you know who I mean. Hard to start this project without you but deadline looms and you're still bein' Nana, the role you were born to play. I know, I know, if you'd known grandchildren were this much fun, you'd have had them first.

    April 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: The Bills stadium and the proverbs We are what we are because of the way that we think, and we got the nothingness that have as a result of it.

    April 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • GUEST VIEW: A closer look at Spirit Airline's DOT numbers This last week, there were articles published highlighting that Spirit Airlines has the highest DOT customer complaint rate among US airlines.

    April 18, 2014

  • NIA DeLuca, Michele mug DELUCA: Say it ain't so, Joe I had just parked my car in front of the Gazette offices on Niagara Street last week Thursday when a man approached me and stood by my door.

    April 17, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
US Proposes Pay-for-priority Internet Standards Wife Mourns Chicago Doctor Killed in Afghanistan FDA Proposes Regulations on E-cigarettes Kerry Warns Russia of Expensive New Sanctions Mideast Peace Talks Stall on Hamas Deal Cody Walker Remembers His Late Brother Paul Grieving South Korea Puts Up Yellow Ribbons Raw: Kerry Brings His Dog to Work Raw: Girls Survive Car Crash Into Their Bedroom Three U.S. Doctors Killed by Afghan Security Yankees' Pineda Suspended 10 Games for Pine Tar Colleagues Mourn Death of Doctors in Afghanistan Ukraine Launches Operation Against Insurgents Obama Reassures Japan on China Raw: Car Crashes Into San Antonio Pool Time Magazine Announces Top Influencers List Raw: Angry Relatives Confront SKorea Officials Bigger Riders Means Bigger Horses Out West Yankees Pineda Ejected for Pine Tar Deadly Fungus Killing Bats, Spreading in US
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page