Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 7, 2014

HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church and early life

(Continued)

Niagara Gazette — Plans were drawn up by George Holley, construction began in 1847 and the first service was held in the uncompleted chapel in 1848. After its completion in 1849, the Rev. Sylvanus Reed officiated at the first service held on the Second Sunday in Lent (March 4th) and remained with the parish for only six months. He was followed by the Rev. Edmund Roberts (1850-1852) and the Rev. Joseph M. Clarke (1852-1858). During 1852 the founder and leading benefactor, Judge Samuel DeVeaux passed away but the parish continued to move forward and the chapel was officially consecrated in 1853 by Bishop DeLancey. He was assisted by Doctor Strachan, Bishop of Toronto, who preached the consecration sermon.

During 1861, the Civil War broke out. It was called the “War of the Rebellion” in one of my references. This brought a wave of depression to Niagara Falls and the parish. The record stated: “In consequence of the war, the business of the place was much depressed and a number of families of the congregation had removed. The parish felt straightened in its finances, and the rector, influenced by that fact and his own imperfect health, determined to resign.” The Rev. W. O. Jarvis of New York had accepted the call of the vestry and became rector on March 20, 1859, and left on Feb. 22, 1863. He was replaced by the Rev. O.F.Starkey who remained until Dec. 1, 1869.

During the late 1860s the church was more stabilized and expanded to include Sunday school and a private girls’ seminary.

A brick dwelling on a lot on First Street near the church on the south side was purchased for $5,000 with funds from both parish members and churchmen from outside, chiefly from New York. The purpose was for a school for girls to be under the auspices of the church of this parish. A separate corporation was formed named the Jerauld Institute in honor of Dexter R. Jerauld who zealously supported the school. It only operated for a few years as the endowment and supports were inadequate to meet the necessary expenses. The parish was also involved with the DeVeaux School.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Isaiah 61 Project breathes new life into city Friday was a big day for the Isaiah 61 Project. It may have been a bigger day for the Falls.

    July 28, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug [Duplicate] GLYNN: A key factor in luring the convention A natural wonder in the nation's oldest state park isn't the lone factor for selecting Niagara Falls as a convention site.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • SINGER: Regional poetry and sad realities If that isn't (or wasn't) poetry, I don't know what is! I'm referring to the self-satisfied, sluggish trot of ice chunks emanating from Lake Erie in early May 2014 -- sauntering, it felt, along the lovely Niagara.

    July 27, 2014

  • EDITORIAL: Pleased with increased police patrols It was good to see the Niagara Falls Police Department join forces with other local law enforcement agencies in response to a recent uptick in violent crime.

    July 27, 2014

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page