Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 7, 2014

HIGGS: St. Peter's Episcopal Church and early life

Niagara Gazette — Last time we learned how the Porter family assisted the parish of a small chapel known as Christ Church in downtown Niagara Falls in 1846 by donating two parcels of land, one for a site on which to build a church and one for a parsonage house. The History of St. Peter’s Church found in a Program of Services Held in Commemoration of the Fiftieth Anniversary of the Laying of the Corner Stone referred to “General Peter Buel Porter, whose estate donated the lots referred to, as a well-known pioneer and distinguished citizen of the Niagara frontier.” He was elected to Congress in 1808 but resigned and recruited a group of volunteers during the War of 1812 against Great Britain. He later served as Secretary of War in President John Quincy Adams’ cabinet and died at his home in Niagara Falls on March 20, 1844. His son, Colonel Peter Augustus Porter and his sister Elizabeth donated the two parcels of land which were part of his father’s estate left to them. Colonel Porter was killed June 3, 1863, during the Civil War in the bloody battle of Cold Harbor.

On Easter Monday in 1847, the members of the reorganized parish met and elected as Wardens, Samuel DeVeaux and George W. Holley along with eight vestrymen: Christopher H. Smith, Richard H. Woodruff, Dexter R. Jerauld, Hollis White, Cyrus F. Smith, Michael Walsh, Abel M. Swallow and John Telyea. Some of these men were well known to the congregation at the 50th anniversary celebration in 1923 or at least their names fondly remembered. We already were introduced to Judge Samuel DeVeaux in a previous article and Mr. Holley who lived in the stone house on the river at the beginning of the “Loop drive” which was surrounded by several acres of only partially cultivated fields — all fronting on Buffalo Avenue extending to the bank of the Upper Niagara River. This was, of course, prior to the state of New York’s purchase of Reservation Drive. Michael Walsh was the father of Mrs. Hamlin who lived in the large brick house with extensive grounds on Third Street, near Ferry Avenue with her daughters. The rector at the time, Amos Treadway was also a relative of the Walsh and Hamlin families. Dexter Jerauld lived in the old stone house on Buffalo Avenue, which later became the Niagara Club.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Higgs, Norma mug HIGGS: A cupcake gets the Niagara Beautification Commission spotlight Not a cupcake per se, but a cute shop in LaSalle operated by a "sweet" lady who is a real dynamo when it comes to running a business.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page