Niagara Gazette

Opinion

April 7, 2014

CITY DESK: Trying to lend a hand

Niagara Gazette — Jim Gravelle does everything they tell you to do. 

He eats right, exercises regularly and doesn’t smoke.

Other than the occasional beer, he’s not a big drinker either.

Which is why it came as quite a shock last year when doctors told Jim that he had a rare, cancerous tumor wrapped around his vertebra threatening to spread to his brain.

The diag- nosis — Lym- pho- blastic Lym- phoma — required intense and immediate treatment, including inpatient chemotherapy, blood and platelet transfusions and lumbar punctures. 

Doctors say through treatment the tumor has been satisfactorily addressed.

Unfortunately, Jim can’t quite celebrate full recovery just yet.

He’s about to face another rigorous challenge in the form of a month-long, inpatient bone marrow transplant procedure that is needed to address another potentially dangerous health concern.

During treatment, doctors discovered he also has a rare Philadelphia Chromosome that puts him at high risk of developing leukemia. 

Hence, the need for the bone marrow transplant. 

After 30 years of service at Nuttall Gear without taking a single sick day, Jim has finally been forced to take a few. 

He has, however, been working as he has been able because, well, that’s just the kind of guy that he is. 

In the interest of full disclosure, Jim is also my wife’s ex-husband, which may make all of this sound a bit more strange coming from me. 

While we have had a few disagreements over the years, we do have one thing in common: A love for his daughter and my stepdaughter, Krystal. 

Beyond that, Jim Gravelle is also a human being, the latest in a long and seemingly endless line of unfortunate souls who have been forced to battle one of humanity and society’s most challenging ills. 

He’s been doing his level best to battle the disease and while he’s had his share of down and difficult days, he’s still standing, ready to take on the next treatment challenge. 

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Opinion
  • NIA Smith, Doug and Polly LETTERS FROM THE ISLAND: Assessing Islander's accidental fame When Islander go ashore, we know how to behave, most of us. Now Wikipedia can add one Kara Dudley to its roster of notable Islanders, definitively a woman of her times.

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • Opinion sig GUEST VIEW: How the military operation in Gaza should be finished

    Shortly the nations of the world will increase their efforts to bridge the gap between Israel and the Hamas terrorist organization in order to bring about a cease-fire and to stop military maneuvers through political channels.    

    August 2, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Hamilton, Ken mug HAMILTON: Imperfect information and the political toilet seat Sometimes, in the multiple choices of life, the answer is quite simply 'E', "Not enough information to draw a conclusion."

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: Police need to move past use of 'negro' The Lockport Police Department raised some eyebrows this week after posting a question on its Facebook page about the use of the word "negro" to describe suspects.

    August 1, 2014

  • GUEST VIEW: Stop the violence by giving kids something to do A reason for all of the shootings that have plagued our city is because our kids have nothing to do. We have taken away all the basketball courts throughout the city.

    August 1, 2014

  • NIA Glynn, Don mug GLYNN: Moreland panel comes back to haunt Cuomo Let's get this straight. That was Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo at the microphone in the Syracuse radio station, Dec. 4, 2013, explaining the need for reactivating the anti-corruption panel called the Moreland Commission. "The commission clearly has the legal authority to look at anything they want to look at, including the governor, the attorney-general, the comptroller, etc.," the governor told the listening audience.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • EDITORIAL: A taxing time for Lewiston town officials It's disappointing to learn that a seemingly financially sound community like the Town of Lewiston now finds itself facing 2015 budget crunch that could, of all things, lead to the creation of a new town tax.

    July 31, 2014

  • NIA Krause mug 073114 GUEST VIEW: Arnold represents a fresh start for local Republicans Two years ago, as chairman of the city of Niagara Falls Republicans, the committee and I broke from the traditional policy of the county republicans of endorsing state Sen. George Maziarz for reelection.

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Bradberry, Bill mug BRADBERRY: Immigration issue belongs to everyone I must admit, I was pleasantly surprised when I opened up my digital edition of the Washington Post yesterday and found something that I think captures part of the dilemma America faces right this minute; it's a simple question: Who are we, or to put it another way, what do we really stand for?

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • NIA Confer, Bob mug new CONFER: It's time the U.S. stopped giving aid to Israel When you see some of the atrocities that Israel has committed in Gaza, including last week's bombing of a United Nations school that was being used as a civilian emergency shelter, you should really wonder why we count them as an ally and why we devote so much of our financial and political resources to the scoundrels.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

Featured Ads
House Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Opinion
House Ads
Night & Day
Twitter News
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Front page